All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 1st July

on July 1, 2014

TTT

Well the first half of 2014 is now officially over and we’re into the second half! Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish feature created and hosted by the girls over at The Broke & the Bookish. This week the topic is Classics but you can kind of twist it anyway you want. I have a love/hate relationship with the classics. On one hand – these are the books that have apparently stood the test of time over a generation or more. On the other hand, what I have read I usually don’t love. That doesn’t stop me from wanting to read more of them. In fact I signed up with a challenge in order to do just that. I’m failing abysmally at that though so….for this week my topic is:

Top 10 Classics I Still Haven’t Read Yet

  1. The Tenant Of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë. Anne is the only sister I am still yet to try although to be honest, I have zero love for Wuthering Heights (in fact I hate that book with a fiery passion) and although I didn’t mind Jane Eyre I don’t have the sort of love and devotion for it that others do. I do have a copy of this one on my shelf though and I keep meaning to pick it up.
  2. North & South by Elizabeth Gaskell. Actually, I’ve never read any of Gaskell’s books although I do own three of them. I have been urged to read this one and watch the adaptation with Richard Armitage which is apparently pretty good.
  3. The Woman In White by Wilkie Collins. I’ve been meaning to read this one for so long! There’s been read-a-longs everywhere on the internetz for it but somehow I’ve never quite managed to get there. It does seem to be pretty universally well-liked though. One day!
  4. The Portrait Of A Lady by Henry James. I actually started this last year I think it was and got about….I don’t know maybe 100p into it? I didn’t mind it although to be honest, nothing much was really happening but somehow I got distracted by other books and this one still sits on my bedside table with the bookmark still at the same spot.
  5. Tess Of The D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy. So when I was in my final year of school, I did extension (advanced) English and the teacher really, really pushed us to choose this text to study. There were only three of us in the class, one of which was really vocal against studying it so we ended up choosing other things. It’s been referenced in books I’ve read in recent years, enough to make me curious. Although apparently not curious enough to actually pick it up and read it.
  6. Heart Of Darkness by Joseph Conrad. I don’t know why I haven’t read this, it’s like, almost 0 pages and I own a really pretty edition.
  7. Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak. I was curious enough about this one to buy two different copies in the same week, not realising I’d already purchased the first one! Actually, my cable classic movie channel is showing some great movies this month (Gone With The Wind, etc) and Doctor Zhivago is one of them. Might be a great opportunity to finally read the book and then watch the movie when it airs.
  8. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. I don’t even own a copy of this one. Actually this is the first book on my list that I don’t own a copy of. Going to have to rectify that at some stage. I definitely do want to read this one. Ugh why are there so many books and so little time to read them all?!
  9. On The Road by Jack Kerouac. How have I not read this?! I don’t even know.
  10. War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy. My first foray into Tolstoy and Russian literature went well. I read Anna Karenina and really liked it. I’ve been tempted by War & Peace but to be honest it’s mostly the size that puts me off. It’s ginormous. And I have to be really in the mood for something that big and totally not distracted by anything else. And that pretty much never happens.

So these are the 10 Classics I can’t really believe that I haven’t read. Have you read any? Is there anything on there that I absolutely must get to ASAP? Let me know!

12 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 1st July

  1. I haven’t read any of these either. I can’t believe North and South isn’t one I’ve read before because I enjoy books of that nature. Hope you’ll check out my list at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/07/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-classics-i-want.html

  2. so glad someone else when with classic’s that haven’t read. Now I’m mad I didn’t put Doctor Zhivago on my list

  3. Especially excited about getting to the last three on your list before the year is up!

  4. You mentioned a ton of great books on your list–North & South *le swoon*, The Woman in White, Brave New World, War & Peace, Doctor Zhivago, etc. Hope you enjoy all of them when you get to them! 😀

    My TTT

  5. tashlyn says:

    I really struggled with The Portrait Of A Lady, but I was young and silly when I read it 🙂 Hope you have more luck.

  6. michelletw says:

    I can say I have read 2 of those 10… so I’m happy. 😉
    I read and loved Tess of the D’Uberveilles and Heart of Darkness.
    Heart of Darkness was definitely one I read for school but I think I read Tess off my own back.

  7. ChrissiReads says:

    Brave New World and Tess of the D’Urbervilles are on my list this week too. I do hope to get to them at some point!

  8. ohsacrebleu says:

    When people read ‘Wuthering Heights’ there are always two reactions – passionate love, or passionate hate. I fall in the ‘passionate love’ column, but it’s interesting how no one I meet seems to have a neutral or “it was good” reaction, it’s either ‘oh my god i loooove it’ or ‘oh my god i haaaaate it’ – interesting isn’t it? 🙂

    ANYwho – that wasn’t really the point of your post! I’ve read a couple on the list but you mentioned a few I’d love to read, will pick up some classics after I finish my three contemporary fiction currently on my nightstand.

    I think winter’s always a good time for classics 🙂

  9. I haven’t read any of these either, although Tess of the D’Urbervilles is on my list for this week. If I hadn’t been focusing on books I owned and read/hadn’t read, I totally would’ve included North and South and On the Road, at he very least! Great list 🙂

    My TTT

  10. A Brave New World is a must read if you’re into Science Fiction. Great list!

    Our TTT!

  11. Belle says:

    Ahh yes you need to read North and South, it is so so wonderful! I also love The Woman in White too. I want to read basically all of the rest of the list! The only except is Tess of the Durbervilles, I studied it at uni so I know everything that happens but I never finished reading it and I don’t know that I want to. I’ve watched a few adaptations and it’s just such a depressing story.

  12. AHHHH! LOVED the North and South TV adaption….seriously amazing! I have to read the books still but watching it totally made me want to read them!
    Great selection!
    Caroline @ Bon Bon and Reveries

Leave a Reply

