All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

June Reading Wrap Up

on July 1, 2014

Total Books Read: 22
Fiction: 19
Non-Fiction: 3
Library Books: 2
Books On My TBR List: 6
Books in a Series: 8
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 9
Male/Female Authors: 3/19
Kindle Books: 4
Books I Owned or Bought: 3
Favourite Book(s): A Dance With Dragons, by George R.R. Martin.
Least Favourite Book(s):  The Feel-Good Hit Of The Year, by Liam Pieper
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 11

Thankfully June mostly saw the return of my reading mojo! I think taking the break from the piles to read the Song of Ice and Fire books as well as a few re-reads and not stressing about making sure I was picking up a book to read everyday, definitely helped. It also helped that there were lots of new interesting books to read, things that I couldn’t wait to get started. There were a few other books that I thought would be okay that I turned out to like much more than I expected, which is always good.

We are now halfway through 2014 (a very scary thought) and I’ve read 130 books. I do feel much more relaxed since I revised my Goodreads total! I was doing pretty good with my vow to read more male authors, especially more male Aussie authors but I know I have fallen behind in that the last couple of months. I’ve also read very little in the way of classics – I think maybe one this whole year. I buy them! But I just don’t seem to get around to reading them. Actually my Top 10 Tuesday post which goes up this afternoon will be about classics I’ve still yet to read.

Seeing as we are halfway through the year, I thought I’d name my five favourite books read so far… if I can stick to five, that is. Yeah we all know that’s not going to happen. So I’m going to get around that by breaking it down into a few categories.

  1. The Old School and Beams Falling by P.M Newton (favourite crime novels)
  2. The Song Of Ice & Fire Books 1-5 by George R.R. Martin (favourite fantasy)
  3. The Golden Dice by Elisabeth Storrs (favourite historical fiction)
  4. Rocking Horse Hill by Cathryn Hein, Outback Blaze by Rachael Johns and Red Sand Sunrise by Fiona McArthur (favourite rual fiction/rural romance)
  5. Eleanor & Park and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, The Year Of The Rat by Clare Furniss, Where The Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller, Looking For Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta and The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer (favourite NA/YA)
  6. Martin Harbottle’s Appreciation Of Time by Dominic Utton (just because).

See? I’m hopeless! And there’s probably easily a half dozen books that I adored that I missed.

I’m going to avoid setting goals for myself for the second half of the year but I would like to to increase my books by male authors again and also attempt another classic or two. That’s it. No more goals.

Also can I just say that I’m gutted that Richard Flanagan’s beautiful The Narrow Road To The Deep North didn’t win the Miles Franklin Literary Award.

 

 

2 responses to “June Reading Wrap Up

  1. Bree, I’m delighted you’ve chosen The Golden Dice. Very honoured. It’s made my day:)

  2. Glad you got your mojo back!

Leave a Reply

