All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

May Reading Wrap Up

on June 2, 2014

Total Books Read: 12
Fiction: 11
Non-Fiction: 1
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 4
Books in a Series: 6
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 5
Male/Female Authors: 4/8
Kindle Books: 4
Books I Owned or Bought: 7
Favourite Book(s): A Game Of Thrones, A Clash of Kings and A Storm Of Swords by George R.R. Martin
Least Favourite Book(s):  #Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 1

So my May reading month looks very different to the last year or more. I only read 12 books for the month of May which is probably half of what I average. BUT (and it’s a big but), four of those books were books in the Song of Ice & Fire series (aka A Game of Thrones) by George R.R. Martin. I’m also about halfway through the fifth book, A Dance With Dragons so even though I only read 12 books in May, my page count would be huge as the Martin books are 1000p each, roughly. Some are more, some are a bit less. I started them as part of my attempt to rediscover some enthusiasm for reading. I had avoided chunksters recently in order to knock off more books from my TBR pile. I bought the boxset of the Song of Ice & Fire books some years ago and finally decided that the time had come to try them. And I ended up hooked – powered through the first couple of books and then took a small break, read the third and then read a couple of light ones to recover from the ending of the third one, which smashed me to pieces it was so epic! I also began watching the Game of Thrones HBO series in May as well and am now up to date. The newest episode airs later today (squee!) and I cannot wait. Having read the books, I know the sort of epicness that awaits for the last couple of episodes of Season 4. My brother has been catching up on the series at the same time as well and we’ve been exchanging hundreds of text messages on the show, discussing characters and plotlines and what we think could possibly happen. When I got to the end of book3, I had to basically shut up as I was now ahead of the show but as we watch each new ep, we have more to talk about. He actually got incensed that I was past where he was and knew more because I had read the books. He considered going and buying books 3&4 so that he’d know what happens. My brother hasn’t read a book since he was in early high school (he’s 28) so this is a big deal. I’m tipping once season 4 ends, he’s going to need a fix until season 5 starts and I wouldn’t be surprised if he did attempt the books. They’re incredibly readable and even though there’s a huge cast of characters, it’s not really that difficult to keep track of.

So, did my experiment work? Did forgetting the review pile and choosing a story I wanted to read help regain some enthusiasm? The answer is both yes and no. I love the Song of Ice & Fire books – seriously love them. In fact you could possibly even apply the word obsessed. I’m theorising on Jon Snow’s real parentage, who might be left at the end, will certain people ever get what is owed to them, will the remaining Stark family members ever stop suffering, etc. I adore the TV show too, for all its faithfulness and also its differences. I think they’re doing an amazing job adapting such huge books and although they are killing some characters still alive in the books and condensing other characters into one or making up new ones entirely, I understand why most of those decisions are being made. They only have so much time to devote to each story and they need to keep the cast numbers at a certain number. I’m dragging my heels finishing A Dance With Dragons because after that, I have to wait. Who knows when the next book will be out, the TV season only has 3 eps to go before it goes on hiatus until next year so that’s going to be a long time without much to do re: this world.

However. Although I’ve had so much enthusiasm for those books, I haven’t really felt all that interested in reading anything else. The books are kind of piling up and I have plenty to choose from but I just can’t seem to make the decision on what to pick up first. It’s probably just a matter of reaching out and grabbing something, anything because once I start a book, I do enjoy it. It’s starting one that’s the problem though! It’s making the commitment to start something, sitting down and actually reading. I do have some good-sounding books on my shelves, ones that I know I will enjoy once I start them. So why is starting them so hard?!

2 responses to “May Reading Wrap Up

  1. Ali Stegert says:

    I take my hat off to you! 4.5 Song of Fire & Ice books in a month? Geez! I’ve been fighting the temptation to start the series because I was afraid that would be the end of my reading for the rest of the year! Your endorsement is making it hard to stay strong. Must…resist…SoF&I….

Leave a Reply

