All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 31st December

on December 31, 2013

TTTIt’s officially the last day of 2013! I can’t believe it really – for me this year has gone super fast and it’s hard to imagine that tomorrow brings a brand new year, especially the year in which my oldest starts school. So because it’s the last day of the year, of course for Top 10 Tuesday, hosted by The Broke & The Bookish, the topic is:

Top 10 Books I Read In 2013!

(These are roughly in the order I read them, not in any real particular order of actual preference)

  1. FirebirdThe Firebird, by Susanna Kearsley. I love pretty much all of her books and this one expands upon a couple of earlier stories (it’s best if you’ve read The Winter Sea and probably also The Shadowy Horses before this one). Whoever thought a psychic could be so hot? And the setting is beautiful.
  2. Rosie ProjectThe Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion. This book won the heart of pretty much everyone that read it this year – it’s such a charming and funny story with lovely characters. I probably don’t need to say much about it!
  3. Wild GirlThe Wild Girl, by Kate Forsyth. Kate Forsyth writes so beautifully – her books retelling fairy tales truly are masterpieces. For anyone who read and loved Bitter Greens then you definitely need to read this one too. It’s a fabulous story, utterly engaging.
  4. People SmugglerThe People Smuggler, by Robin De Crespigny. I don’t read much non-fiction, although I probably read more in 2013 than I have in the past 10 years. There were a few really good choices, but ultimately I decided to go with this one because I think it presents such a different side to the refugee and boat people crisis from what a lot of people (especially those in power) would have us believe. It’s very interesting and very well done.
  5. Life In Outer SpaceLife In Outer Space, by Melissa Keil. A wonderfully quirky and funny YA novel that was recommended to me by the fabulous Mandee from VeganYANerds and I’m so glad she did. I really enjoyed this one and in turn, I’ve recommended it to a bunch of other people. I can’t wait to see what Melissa Keil writes next.
  6. LickLick, by Kylie Scott. This one took the eBook world by storm and it wasn’t hard to see why. It taps in to a lot of those fantasy style stories: waking up married in Vegas, finding out your brand new husband is actually the super hot guitarist of a well known band…. etc. And then there’s the issues, which are awesome. Fantastic writing, sexy and there’s more to come!
  7. Outback DreamsOutback Dreams, by Rachael Johns. I read a lot of fabulous rural romances this year and it was hard choosing one to include in this list but in the end I went with this one because I really enjoyed a slightly different take on the friends-to-lovers and I thought the community created was awesome and I liked the way in which it explored some issues. It’s also first of a trilogy so the bonus is we get to return to the setting twice more next year.
  8. Vampire AcademyThe Vampire Academy Series, by Richelle Mead. Seriously, it was ridiculous that I didn’t read these until now.
  9. Hate Is Such A Strong WordHate Is Such A Strong Word, by Sarah Ayoub. I’ve mentioned this book a lot lately but I have to include it here. I think at times it’s difficult for some people to understand what it might be like for first generation migrants who are caught between their parents culture and the culture of their new country. This book does an excellent job of exploring that with some sweet teen romance thrown in. Was a winner for me.
  10. Fiery HeartThe Fiery Heart, by Richelle Mead. I have to admit, I didn’t fall in love with this series right away, like I did with Vampire Academy. It took a little while for Mead to convince me of everything she had going on here but this book definitely did it. It steps everything up a lot and really makes you think about how/where things are going to go from here.

It was surprisingly easy picking my 10 here however I’m going to throw in a few honourable mentions because I really did read a lot of fabulous books in 2013! So here we go:

A Spear Of Summer Grass by Deanna Raybourn, Love With A Chance of Drowning by Torre DeRoche, Dark Horse by Honey Brown, Half Moon Bay by Helene Young, The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty, Heartland by Cathryn Hein, Roll With It by Nick Place, Terminated by Rachel Caine, My Notorious Life by Kate Manning, Me & Rory Macbeath by Richard Beasley, The Whole Of My World by Nicole Hayes, Redemption by Jussi Adler-Olsen, The Outback Heart by Fiona Palmer, The Girl In The Yellow Vest by Loretta Hill, The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan, Barracuda by Christos Tsiolkas, The Best Man by Kristan Higgins and Chocolate Cake For Breakfast by Danielle Hawkins.

Happy New Year everyone!

11 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 31st December

  1. Great list! lol, it’s so hard to bring a year of reading down to a list of ten titles; my honourable mentions list is just as long 😀 I didn’t include Deanna Raybourn’s A Spear of Summer Grass on my list but I certainly enjoyed it 🙂 And of course, Simsion’s The Rosie Project made my list this week xD

    Happy New Year! 🙂 My TTT

  2. A great list of books. Even if I am a little biased 🙂

  3. Vampire Academy is one of my all-time favorite series! I haven’t read Bloodlines yet though.

    Happy new year! 😀
    My TTT 🙂

  4. stacybuckeye says:

    I just discover Kearsley this year (Winter Sea) and can’t wait to read the rest!

  5. Nice list…The People Smuggler looks good to me.

    Going to look around. I haven’t visited before.

    Happy New Year!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews

    Do you make New Year’s Resolutions? Stop by to see what some authors do about New Year’s Resolutions.

    Author Resolutions

  6. booksofamber says:

    EEP, Vampire Academy! I’m so glad you finally discovered the series 😀 It’s one of my all time favourites. I love everything about it, and Rose is FLAWLESS ❤

    Happy New Year!

  7. I have seen a couple of lists with The Rosie Project on it, and it’s making me really want to give it a try! When I read the synopsis, it didn’t jump out at me as something that would tickle my interests, but SO many people have loved it, so maybe I’ll give it a shot, soon! happy new year!

  8. I really liked Vampire Academy too, but I read it way back so I couldn’t include it to my list. Happy new year! 😀

    Top 10 Books I Read in 2013! 🙂
    Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014

  9. I started The People Smuggler but just couldn’t get into it. Think it’s one I need to revisit.

  10. MidnightPageTurners says:

    I’m reading fiery heart at the moment and I really love it so far, I hope I can finish the Bloodlines and Vampire Academy Series by the end of 2014, can’t believe I’m so late in realising how awesome these books are!

  11. Great haul! I’m really hoping to start the VA series this year, have heard so many amazing things. HAPPY NEW YEAR! Great picks 🙂 My TTT.

Leave a Reply

