All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 17th December

on December 17, 2013

TTTTop 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish featuring a different theme each week. Today it is:

Top 10 New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

  1. Richelle Mead. This one is easy! I’d never read Richelle Mead before this year although the first book I read by her was Gameboard of the Gods which for me, isn’t really a showcase of her talents. But it was enough to finally convince me to read the Vampire Academy series, which I’d always avoided before now because of the name (horrid!) and the covers. I immediately went straight on to Bloodlines after that and also read her Succubus series which was awesome as well.
  2. Karen Marie Moning. I read her Fever series this year in about four days – I became completely obsessed with it. I also listened to the audiobooks of 4&5 many, many times (especially the last one). I did try the Dani O’Malley book but I have to say, it kind of creeped me out. The next book occurs 3 years after so Dani is 17 now which makes it seem slightly less weird. But only slightly. But I’m looking forward to the return of Mac & Barrons.
  3. Sarah Ayoub. This Australian freelance journalist released her first novel, Hate Is Such A Strong Word this year and I loved it. It’s such a fabulous story set among Sydney’s Lebanese Australian community and it definitely gave me lots to think about in terms of what it mean to be torn between two cultures and your family and a desire to have a life.
  4. Kristan Higgins. I have heard a lot about her books as I follow quite a lot of contemporary romance fans but I’d never read any until very recently. Her books are very funny with offbeat characters and interesting family relationships. I’ve requested some more of her titles from my local library.
  5. Dave Eggers. I read The Circle earlier this year and really liked his ideas and his style and reading more about him, I definitely want to read more of his books, especially A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius which is a story that’s sort of a memoir based on him quitting college to look after a younger sibling after both of his parents died young a short time apart.
  6. Richard Flanagan. Flanagan is a very well known and respected Australian author – in fact he’s one of my husband’s favourites. He’s been trying to get me to read him for years and finally succeeded this year with his latest release, The Narrow Road to the Deep North which features predominantly around the Thai-Burma railway which is also known as the Death Railway due to how many people died during its construction. Beautiful book beautifully written.
  7. Danielle Hawkins. This NZ author has two books out and I read them both within a couple of weeks of each other. I actually read her 2nd novel first, Chocolate Cake for Breakfast which was released this month because I received an ARC. I adored it – it was so funny and interesting and I immediately found her first book Dinner At Rose’s and devoured that. They’re different books, Rose is much more serious and sombre but still rife with a lot of humour that Aussies get.
  8. Melissa Keil. I really enjoyed her debut, Life In Outer Space. She has a new book coming out next year and I can’t wait to get my hands on that one!
  9. Erin Morgenstern. I read The Night Circus for book club which was a nice push because I’d owned it for a long time and hadn’t gotten around to picking it up even though I’d heard so many fabulous things about it. It’s a gorgeous book, so wonderfully evocative and a lovely story. So much whimsy and fantasy in that world I can’t even begin to describe it. I’m eagerly anticipating what she might come up with next.
  10. Samantha Shannon. So there was a lot of hype and anticipation about this title which always makes me super wary because so often the hype really does more damage than good, giving a book unrealistic expectations. I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this and everything that went into it and the story of Paige and Warden was full of surprises. I can’t wait for the next installment!
13 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 17th December

  1. Jenn J McLeod | House for all Seasons says:

    Thank you for a year of great reviews and all things bookish! Have just ordered Dinner at Rose’s. Sounds like my cuppa! Merry Christmas and may Santa brings lots of books!

  2. Great list! Erin Morgenstern’s book was such an experience to read 🙂

    My TTT

  3. I still need to read The Night Circus. I have a copy right here next to me but it seems that other books keep taking precedence. I’m glad that you discovered Richelle Mead . I’m a huge fan of her books and always like when other people like the things I do. As for Danielle Hawkins – bought a copy of Chocolate Cake for Breakfast after reading your review!

    • Oh that’s awesome, I hope you enjoy Chocolate Cake! (And that you’re not queasy at all – it’s quite descriptive, lol). Yes, I’m so glad I discovered Richelle Mead too! I can’t believe it took me so long!

  4. crini says:

    I think there are quite a lot of lists with Richelle Mead on it 😀 Seems like everyone is finally reading Vampire Academy but me. It’s on my to-read list for 2014 though! (already have 4 of the books)

    Samantha Shannon made my list too. I loved the Bone Season! I started reading it without expecting too much and once I started I couldn’t put it down. Read it in just one day.

    My TTT: http://itsallaboutbooks.de/2013/12/top-ten-new-to-me-authors-i-read-in-2013/

  5. Jan says:

    I love Karen Marie Moning as well! Barrons…what can I say? 🙂 I didn’t try the one with Dani because I thought it might creep me out a bit so I can’t wait for Mac and Barrons to come back again!

    • Ahhhh….Barrons! He’s fabulous. Yes, the Dani book is creepy, considering she was 14. I only really skimmed it to see if I could get a glimpse of Mac & Barrons. Apart from the weirdness of her still being so young, her voice as sole narrator really bugs me.

  6. curlygeek04 says:

    I read Dave Eggers for the first time this year, too — What is the What. He co-wrote the book with someone else so I didn’t count it on my list. Still, it was an amazing book! I enjoyed The Bone Season too. Still a little hesitant to read The Night Circus for some reason.

  7. I NEED to read Samantha Shannon. She has been on my TBR list for way too long. Not really heard of many of the other authors on your list but will definitely be checking some of them out. Great list 🙂

Leave a Reply

