All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

September & October Reading Wrap Up

on November 1, 2013

Somehow I neglected to do a monthly wrap up for September, so I’m including it in this post

September

Total Books Read: 26
Fiction: 25
Non-Fiction: 1
Library Books: 6
Books On My TBR List: 7
Books in a Series: 14
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 9
Male/Female Authors: 3/23
Kindle Books: 4
Books I Owned or Bought: 15
Favourite Book(s): Redemption by Jussi Adler-Olsen, The Outback Heart by Fiona Palmer
Least Favourite Book(s): Naked by Raine Miller
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 9

October

Total Books Read: 28
Fiction: 27
Non-Fiction: 1
Library Books: 4
Books On My TBR List: 3
Books in a Series: 14
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 14
Male/Female Authors: 1/27
Kindle Books: 13
Books I Owned or Bought: 7
Favourite Book(s): Succubus Dreams by Richelle Mead, Hate Is Such A Strong Word by Sarah Ayoub, The Girl In The Yellow Vest by Loretta Hill and The Best Man by Kristan Higgins.
Least Favourite Book(s): Naked Sushi by Jina Bacarr
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 6

In some ways, both September and October were highly successful reading months, in other ways I slipped into old ways that I’ve been trying to work to change a little bit. Whilst I read quite a few books and found a lot I enjoyed (I rated 5 books five stars each over the course of the two months) I definitely lost momentum in my quest to read more male authors and also to read a few non-fiction titles a month. In both September and October I could only manage one title that couldn’t be classified as fiction for each month and the grand total for books read by male authors is just 4 for the two months out of 54 books. In my defense, I did go away for 2.5 weeks in October and loaded up my kindle with a lot of quick and easy romance style reads which upped my female author quota a lot. I was also visiting family and had the pick of my Nan’s collection of books and she buys 99% female authors so there was not a lot by men to choose from. The bonus side of going away meant that my kindle got quite a workout in October – I read 13 books on it compared with a paltry 4 in September.

Whilst I did read a lot off my kindle while I was away and my NetGalley stats are better than ever (although still not as good as they recommend, that seems to be almost impossible to achieve given I always have books that aren’t going to be published for a while and therefore haven’t uploaded reviews of those) I have an absolute pile of books that arrived whilst I was away and books that I didn’t get to before I left. Luckily my husband was awesome enough to make sure that I came home to a mostly-spotless house so that I can get stuck into them!

2 responses to “September & October Reading Wrap Up

  1. My goodness, you were busy! Great job at keeping us update, see you in November! 🙂

Leave a Reply

