All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Succubus Blues – Richelle Mead

on October 6, 2013

Succubus BluesSuccubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid #1)
Richelle Mead
Kensington Publishing
2007, 375p
Read from my local library

Georgina Kincaid is a succubus – she traded her soul for immortality a very long time ago. She’s undergone many transformations and has held many jobs, many names in the years between her original form and now. Now she is Georgina Kincaid, living in Seattle in the United States and working as an assistant manager in a bookshop. That’s her day job – her night job is a little more…complicated than that.

As a succubus, Georgina gets her life energy from men – by sleeping with them. The more innocent the man she corrupts into doing the deed with her, the more life force she receives, the more power. And that reflects well on her, on her boss a middle-management demon sort and all the way up the chain. After hundreds of years of doing this, Georgina has become jaded to the idea of seducing innocents and good men and she often gets by by choosing the less virtuous. That doesn’t get her as much energy and it means she has to do it more often but it helps her conscience.

And then she meets Seth Mortensen. In some ways, Georgina is already well acquainted with Seth, having read all of his books and loved them unconditionally. He’s her favourite author and he’s going to be doing an event in her bookstore. After a somewhat rocky start where Georgina doesn’t recognise him, she learns that he’s moving to Seattle to be closer to his brother and she takes it upon herself to show him around town. Seth likes to write in coffee shops and they have one in their bookstore – if Seth picks their store to write in, it will boost their profile and profits enormously and Georgina also wants him to stick around.

Even though Georgina is crushing on Seth, she knows it can go no where, fast. He’s mortal – for her to sleep with him even once might take years off his life. She would kill him eventually, draining him of his life force. Seth might be a little interested in return too, when the muse hasn’t got hold of him. But Georgina knows that she can only admire Seth from afar and at best, be friends with him. No matter how she might feel.

Besides, she has other things to worry about. An unknown entity in town begins killing immortals, ones that are connected in some way to Georgina – ones that she has had run ins with or threatened recently. Now Georgina has to explain herself to the angel-demon duo of Carter and Jerome. Jerome runs this area and he’s always with Carter in some sort of odd relationship Georgina doesn’t understand. If they don’t believe her, then she’s in a world of trouble. But she might be in that anyway because soon it’s pretty clear that the unknown entity is building up to a final showdown….

So, I’ve finished Vampire Academy. And I’m up to date with Bloodlines. It seemed only natural that the next step would be to check out Richelle Mead’s other books. I’ve heard a little bit about this succubus series but I’d never gotten around to reading it before. I requested them all from the library at once – I learned a little something or two about how she likes to end books. I wanted to be prepared and I didn’t want to have to wait or sweat out horrible cliffhangers.

Richelle Mead excels at writing characters who want each other but generally, for some reason or not, can’t really have each other. Rose was 17 and Dimitri 24 and her teacher in Vampire Academy. In Bloodlines, Adrian falls in love with Sydney, an alchemist who was brought up to despise his kind, to see them all as evil. And in this series, Georgina and Seth develop an attraction to each other that must remain hands off, because as a succubus, Georgina would do him a heck of a lot of damage from even just one night. She knows she wants Seth and she knows that he wants her as well. But she’s the one who has to keep him at arms length, keep it friendly, because of the secret she has. Seth is a dedicated-writer type so sometimes he’s vague and a bit standoffish (he’s also kind of shy) but other times – woah. The chemistry between him and Georgina fairly sizzles. I have a feeling I’m going to love Seth and Richelle Mead is probably going to torture him because that seems to be what she does.

It’s interesting, I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about Georgina as a character knowing that she has to have sex with men in order to well, continue to exist. Mead manages to make me sympathetic towards her for the reasons she chose this life and also for her attitude towards it in the here and now. But this book is just setting up the attraction between her and Seth, so I’ve no doubt that things will escalate somehow in future books and I wonder how easy it will be to feel for and understand Georgina then.

I really enjoyed the supernatural side of this book, including all of the secondary characters that make up Georgina’s eclectic group of immortal friends. I’m really intrigued by Carter and Jerome, even if I don’t really like them as such. They’re difficult to like, Jerome especially, but they’re really interesting and they have a lot of potential to really grow. I’m so looking forward to the rest of the books in this series.

8/10

Book #245 of 2013

4 responses to “Succubus Blues – Richelle Mead

  1. Danielle says:

    Yay! I love this series – actually, I prefer all of Mead’s adult series over ‘Vampire Academy’ (minus her latest ‘Gameboard of the Gods’ which I have not read, but have been warned off of)

    Great review – I can’t wait for you for you to read this series and all the twists and turns, ups and downs. It’s a doozy!

    • I actually just finished book #3 in this series and the ending KILLED me! How could she do that? It was almost as bad as the ending for Shadow Kiss. I’m really enjoying this series, I’ll move onto the Dark Swan series after this.

      I’ve read Gameboard of the Gods. It was actually the first Richelle Mead book I ever read. To be honest, if I hadn’t been pushed to read the VA books SO much I would never have picked up another of her books. It was -okay- but having read VA, Bloodlines and now this one, it lacks the chemistry and relationships that she cultivates so well in her other books. I don’t give a fig about the characters in GotG but in the rest of her series books I’ve been heavily invested like, a third of the way through the first book.

  2. Danielle says:

    Oh, GOD! Book #3 just about killed me – and the wait afterwards – GAH!!!!! Yes, I also love ‘Black Swan’ which is probably a bit darker and the relationships even trickier, if you can believe it. I love VA, don’t get me wrong, but I think Mead really lets it rip with her adult stuff and excels at throwing characters into impossible situations.

Leave a Reply

