All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

The Mistress – Tiffany Reisz

on July 30, 2013

MistressThe Mistress (The Original Sinners #4)
Tiffany Reisz
Harlequin MIRA
2013, 464p
Copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley

The Queen. Nora Sutherlin has been brutally kidnapped and is now handcuffed – and not in the good way. The only way that she can buy time is with information – providing her captor with stories of the men in her life and the way in which each came to play such an important role in her life. A modern day Scheherazade, she weaves her sensual tales, each one prolonging her life just that little bit longer, giving her hope of rescue.

The Knight. Wesley is a desperate man – desperate to get Nora back and he’s even willing to spend time with people he considers abominable to achieve his goal. Forced into spending time with Søren and Kingsley, Wesley wants to go to the police, to go in all guns blazing, anything to get Nora back to him. She had just agreed to marry him when she was taken and Wesley wants nothing to get in the way of their future. But he’s about to be surprised.

The Pawn. Søren’s niece came all the way from Denmark to surprise him but instead she found herself the one who was surprised. Used as a pawn to deliver a message to Søren from the kidnappers, Laila finds herself swept up in the group who plan to go in and rescue Nora themselves, off the grid. She doesn’t understand why she’s there but she should know that her Uncle always has a plan and she’s an important part of it.

The Rook. Grace is in America on holiday and thought that she would catch up with Nora. Alone, with her husband Zach at a conference in Australia, Grace also finds herself a part of the band of rescuers. She uses the time to console Søren, the man that she has heard so much about but never seen before now. What she sees fascinates her.

The King. Kingsley Edge, the ruler of the underground, the deadliest man around. It’s only him that they believe can truly set Nora free but when it all comes down to it, can Kingsley kill who he needs to in cold blood? Or will he falter and cost the life of someone he loves deeply, someone he has always loved.

The Mistress is the final novel in the quartet of novels that covers this particular time period. It started with The Siren which I loved as being a breath of fresh air. I adored The Angel possibly even more but I do have to admit, The Prince fell short of the mark for me. I’m not a Wesley fan and so much of that book revolved around him and the utterly implausible pairing of him and Nora. I did enjoy the Kingsley and Søren backstory but that was almost as implausible. I have to admit, I go back and forth on Søren. At times I love him and I think he’s fascinating. Other times he’s just so freaking unbelievable that it kind of ends up being hilarious. The deeply devout Catholic priest with the heart of gold that everyone on the planet fears, who needs to inflict physical or mental pain to become aroused, who fell in love with a teenager when he was nearly 30. Yeah, I don’t even know where to go with that most times.

Although I am a fan of Reisz’s writing and her abilities, I’m not really sure that suspense is her strong point. Unusual relationships and creating bonds, yes… threatening people’s lives, not really. There was never a time when I really thought anyone was in any danger in this novel (even if you know things are going to be okay in the end, a good suspense writer makes you question that, in my opinion). The stories were interesting for a while but I got through almost 40% of this book on my kindle and felt like nothing had really happened. It was all just talking, talking and more talking.

I adored Zach in The Siren and have to admit, I thought he was going to at least appear again in one or more of the later books. He doesn’t and I think the most we get is a phone call or two that features him. In this novel we get Grace, his wife. I have nothing against Grace, but I really don’t know what the hell she was even doing here. Her part in this is just strange, as is her instantaneous friendship with Nora. It doesn’t really read as genuine to me, it seems like she was merely here to be another person who magically falls under the spell of Søren, the fixer of all the world’s problems. Also, her entire argument for the latter part of the book is flawed, given she was also sleeping with someone else while she and Zach were separated. It wasn’t exciting for her so she gets to try again? What? No.

What I did like, was Laila and Wesley. Did anyone think that Nora and Wesley were going to end up together? No? Good, then I’m not spoiling anything for anyone. Wesley is utterly vanilla and that’s fine, there’s nothing wrong with that even though there seem to be characters in these books that would sometimes have you think otherwise. Wesley needed someone very different to Nora, someone he was able to really be himself with, no fears. Should he and Nora have stayed together, he would’ve always worried that she would return to Søren. He’d seen it before and by the end of this novel, even Wesley knew that they were supposed to be together. Wesley and Laila worked, because they were similar and they were seeking the same things.

All in all, The Mistress is a mixed bag for me. Some things I liked, some things I didn’t and I still have a few questions. Will I read The Priest? I think so. I still want to know what happened between Søren and Nora/Eleanor in the early years. But I do have to say, the Søren worship is getting to me a bit. This book lays it on quite thick, particularly in the latter half and I’d like to see a little more perspective shown when it comes to his character by others who come into contact with him.

6/10

Book #172 of 2013

2 responses to “The Mistress – Tiffany Reisz

  1. I must admit I was wondering how engaging this novel would be when I read the premise. An entire story set around one woman relating her own tales of sexual misadventure? I would imagine that would become a bit dull after awhile after the novelty wore off.

    That said, this is the first I’ve heard of this particular series and given your positive experience with the first couple of novels, I might just have to add them to my own TBR list. I was intrigued when you mentioned that one of Reisz’ strongpoints was the development of unusual relationships as some of the dynamics between the character you’ve mentioned promise to be very interesting indeed!

    • The first two books are great, the third was just okay for me but has its devoted fans. This one was a disappointment though definitely, no getting around that. A lot of the stories Nora tells her captor were covered in the 3rd book when we learn the extensive background of 2 of the characters, there was really no need to rehash so much in this book. It should’ve been all new stories. I do definitely recommend the first two books at least though and make sure you read them in order.

Leave a Reply

