All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 2nd July

on July 2, 2013

toptentuesdayTop 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic is:

Top 10 Most Intimidating Books

  1. War & Peace, by Leo Tolstoy. I know, it’s the obvious choice. It used to be I was intimidated by this book because ugh, Russian lit. But I read and really loved Anna Karenina so now it’s not so much that which intimidates me, it’s the size of this book. I used to love chunksters, they were right up my alley – the thicker a book was the better. That’s when I was poor and didn’t own many books. Now I own a lot of books and they keep mocking me from my shelves….Read me….when are you going to read me? The time it would take me to read this, I have to wonder how many other books I could read in that time!
  2. Wolf Hall, by Hilary Mantel. I know I have mentioned before that my bookmark has been stuck at p35 in this one for about 3 years. I started it and I was so excited because so many people loved it and it won lots of awards and it was set in a time period that I was just starting to get in to, in terms of literature. It had all the hallmarks of a win! Instead it was this massive struggle, I would fall asleep or find myself daydreaming whilst reading it. I want to tackle it again but…I want to get it. I think I just have to push through and get to the good bits. I’m sure they’re there.
  3. A Confederacy of Dunces, by John Kennedy Toole. This one is mostly intimidating because it’s one of my husband’s absolute favourite books and it’s on a small list he’s made for me of books he wants me to read so that we can talk about them (I do the same for him too). I am more intimidated by feeling indifferent towards it.
  4. A Song Of Ice and Fire Series, by George R.R Martin. I know, right? Everyone is reading these, watching the TV show, talking about them. Red wedding! I have no idea what that means because I would prefer to watch the TV show after I read the books. And obviously, I haven’t read the books yet because those babies are huge and kind of see #1 of this list. How many other books could I read in the time it will take to slog through these? But….they are so supposed to be so awesome. And so, dilemma.
  5. The Red Queen, by Isobelle Carmody. This book isn’t actually out yet. This book may never actually be published, I don’t know. Well I’m sure it will be eventually, but anyone who has read Carmody’s Obernewtyn series knows that…well, a wait is your friend. But I love this series so much and the idea of the last book, even though I am desperate for it, it scares me. What if… what if something horrible happens? I have spent 16 years of my life reading these babies, god knows how long it will be before this one comes out. Saying goodbye to these characters after so long, the idea just makes me sad.
  6. Tess Of The D’Urbervilles, by Thomas Hardy. When I was in high school, there was this English teacher that had a bit of a nervous breakdown and most people treated him very warily, because he was also prone to psychotic outbursts. He tried to force Tess Of The D’Urbervilles on us multiple times because it’s his favourite book but we mostly just outvoted him and chose other texts, most of which were horrid. I’m a little afraid to read this one in case it’s totally awesome and I will hear him in my head, again telling me all of the things which I do not know.
  7. The Entire Harry Potter Series, by J.K Rowling. You know how there’s always that book that you haven’t read but everyone else in the world has and they love it? For me, it’s this entire series. When Potter mania was at its height, I was in high school but I shunned MG and YA books at that stage of my life and read only adult fiction. Seeing grown people pushing and shoving at midnight releases, seeing everything in the history of the world become Harry Potter (Harry Potter toothbrush, anyone?) I just made a decision to boycott this entire series. Except now I am 31 and not 15 and I don’t really care about that stuff anymore and I wonder if I should just read them anyway? Even though I know all of the spoilers, like who dies etc.
  8. Second Chance Summer, by Morgan Matson. I bought this because I loved Amy & Roger but then I realised that the story was a little too close to home for my comfort. And I’ve been warned I am going to ugly cry so bad. So I don’t know when I will ever be able to read this one. I want to but I’m not sure I’m ready for the devastation.
  9. Questions Of Travel, by Michelle DeKretser. This book just won probably Australia’s most prestigious literary award and therein lies the intimidation factor. Award winners and I don’t have a great track record. It’s getting some amazing reviews and I do intend to read it at some stage….maybe I should’ve tried it before it won?
  10. I Know This Much Is True, by Wally Lamb. I’ve owned this one for a couple of years. It’s mostly just the size factor (it’s nearly 1000p). One day I’m going to be super old and probably poor on a pension or something and I’ll be glad I hoarded all of these books to read.

This list was surprisingly easy to put together and I think I could’ve kept going. I didn’t even really touch upon the hardcore classics that intimidate me!

 

31 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 2nd July

  1. Michelle says:

    Number 10 is a great book. Number is waiting for me. I will never read Potter or Game of Thrones. Mantel is taunting me. Vibrant Seth’s A Suitable Boy is the book I have owned forever but never read and know I should.
    Great list!

    • When I was poor and couldn’t afford books, I used to look at A Suitable Boy in the library because they had 4-5 copies and just those took up like, a whole shelf! But for some reason I never actually took the plunge and checked it out even though back then the size of it attracted me!

  2. From memory I quite enjoyed the Wally Lamb…but you have to keep reading a book that big!

    I’m the same with Wolf Hall – got a third of the way through and then abandoned – I just wasn’t enjoying it and didn’t have the stamina for a long book that I didn’t LOVE.

    • Well at least it’s not just me that doesn’t get the beauty of Wolf Hall! I’ve heard so many people talk about how absolutely fantastic it is and how the writing is just perfection. Always makes me wonder what it is about me that doesn’t get it!

  3. I totally know what you mean re: Wolf Hall; I went through something similar the first time I read it. It took a second read and I guess being in the right mood to read it (and now I’m like “OMG, Wolf Hall is awesome“, lol)

    I read War and Peace before Anna Karenina a few years ago; I remember enjoying it (I think I read it before I started my book blog so the details escape me xP)

    My TTT

    • See that’s why I keep Wolf Hall around, because people have told me that once you get into it, it’s SO worth it. I just need to find the motivation to give it another go.

      Haha I’m the same about books I read before blogging. It’s like my brain is a sieve and all those books fell out.

  4. The Entire Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling is a good choice, I’m nervous about them too

  5. flipthatpage says:

    A Song of Ice and Fire is so hard to pick up. I picked GoT up, but put the sequel down, because I was exhausted. Too many characters and subplots. It was reaaaally hard to understand and keep up. But I loved HP! I think it appeals even to a more mature audience 🙂 I think you’ll love it. I happened to have read it to after I spoiled myself the important parts. And I loved Amy and Roger! I think I prefer Second Chance Summer though. It was seriously heart wrenching, and yes, it made me “ugly cry” but I love books that can invoke that sort of thing in me. But that’s just me though. Overall I loved it 🙂 And I love this post! Great picks~

    • ASoIaF sounds like something you need to really devote time to in order to read properly and get everyone and the subplots straight. I sometimes tend to skim read after a while so probably I need to wait until I really have the urge to read these properly!

      I just have to wait until I’m ready to ugly cry for Second Chance Summer!

  6. Ellen says:

    Read Song of Fire and Ice on my iPad so the length was not as daunting…I just keep reading!

    I love the Harry Potter audiobooks by Jim Dale. Fabulous!!!

  7. Definitely read Harry Potter! Even after knowing everything that happens, I still reread the series at least once every two years. It’s just one of those series? I don’t really know! I hope you get a chance to read it soon! And then Second Chance Summer. I haven’t read it yet, due to a similar reason, but I WILL read it soon.

    My Top Ten

    • I used to re-read ALL the time but I find now that I just have so many books I never get around to re-reading favourites anymore! Must be a big effort to re-read the series every couple of years!

  8. Harry Potter made my list as well. I just feel that if/when I read it I will find it to be not that great and become an outcast in the reader world because of it ha ha.
    My TTT.

  9. I could certainly relate to your choices! I didn’t put War and Peace on my own list, although it was definitely a close call. Like you, it’s not so much the length of the book that concerns me, but rather the nagging thoughts about what else I could have accomplished in the time it would inevitably take me to read such a long book.

    I definitely hear you re: George R.R Martin. I bought the complete Game of Thrones set of books a couple of years ago soon after the TV series premiered because I wanted to read the books before watching the series, and I have yet to do either. High fantasy has never been my favourite genre anyway, and the rumoured complexity of Martin’s stories is more than a little intimidating!

    I put Second Chance Summer on my Top Ten Tuesday list this week as well. The possible emotional devastation is something that makes me extremely wary to pick it up, even though I’m sure I’ll end up loving it once I do.

    • I bought the first 4 books of the George R.R. Martin books in a boxset over 2.5 years ago and haven’t even taken them out of the shrinkwrap lol. I guess that tells me that I’m just not ready for them yet!

  10. Anna Karenina for me. I have started that book 3 separate times and I just can’t.

  11. I haven’t read any Russian lit, ever. Very intimidated by it too.
    I say read Harry Potter. I’m not one of those total groupies, but it still was amazing. I feel like… like everyone should read it (trying to get my boyfriend to, as well.)

  12. Tiffany says:

    At the age of 28, I have finally started the Harry Potter series, after years of protest. I am not much of a fantasy person and, like you, avoid YA books and the SUPER popular books. But I finally caved. Why? Because I started listening to them and they are read by Jim Dale. For THAT reason alone, I highly recommend listening to them. Honestly, if it weren’t for him, I would have read the first one and stopped. They are decent books, but definitely written for teenagers and kids, and as an adult, the are a little repetitive and easy to predict.

  13. booklover217 says:

    War and Peace has definitely been on my list for a long time. It is a great classic and I have heard a lot about it, but it is not really the genre that I prefer to read so it is taking me quite a while to actually pick it up. Thanks for sharing your awesome picks!

    My TTT: http://www.bookythoughtsandme.com/top-ten-most-intimidating-books/

    • Yeah I think I’m not naturally a person that gravitates to most classics, I have to make an effort to read them. I want to, because there are books I definitely want to have read for the experience, even if I know I’m not going to love them. However it’s hard to do that when there are so many books on my TBR pile that I know I’ll love, lol.

  14. Quinn says:

    You should definitely read Harry Potter. Although the surprises are great if you don’t know them, there is a lot more to the books. And the feels! JK Rowling really hit it out of the park with HP. I cannot recommend it enough. I’m 30 years old, and have read HP many times. I never get sick of it.

  15. Sam says:

    I would have caved to literary peer pressure YEARS ago on the HP front! It’s a fun read, and I’d recommend it, of course, although, in my heart of hearts, it’s entirely possible I preferred Cassandra Clare’s Draco Trilogy, an outrageously long (shall we say, intimidating!) fanfic based on Harry Potter. But I would never fully admit it for reals.

    As for GoT, I don’t think I can do it. Too much violence. I had the misfortune to witness one episode. The Red Wedding episode. …sadfaces. Moving on. Tess was on Kate @ Mad But Magic’s list and she’s got a lot of good stuff to say about it!

    Thanks for a marvy list!

    Sam @ Mad But Magic

    Our TTT: http://madbutmagicya.blogspot.com/

  16. Belle says:

    I resisted Harry Potter for AGES but when I finally picked it up I devoured it all in two weeks and loved it. I love that you and your husband make lists for each other. I tried reading A Confederacy of Dunces awhile ago and couldn’t get into it. I should probably read it at some point.
    I studied Tess of the Durbervilles at uni, and didn’t finish the whole book because I found out what happened in class and didn’t want to bother. Ha.

Leave a Reply

