All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

June & Half-Yearly Reading Wrap-Up

on June 30, 2013

Total Books Read: 26* (It’s unlikely that I’ll read a book today but if I do, it’ll be 27)
Fiction: 26
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 1
Books On My TBR List: 5
Books in a Series: 12
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 14
Male/Female Authors: 4.5/21.5 (one book is written by a husband and wife pairing)
Kindle Books: 9
Books I Owned or Bought: 6
Favourite Book(s): The Whole Of My World by Nicole Hayes, The Shadow Year by Hannah Richell, Lick by Kylie Scott.
Least Favourite Book(s): The Silver Chain by Primula Bond, While It Lasts by Abbi Glines.
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 15

June was another good reading month, numbers wise although not as good in terms of finding books to read that I really loved. I also read what I think might possibly be the worst book I’ve ever read since I began blogging if not my whole life – The Silver Chain by Primula Bond. I’ll have a review for that one up sometime later this week but it’s basically a prime example of what I think is writing to a market/trying to imitate something successful.

The year is now half over and I can’t believe it! Not quite sure where part of it has gone because it has flown. So far for the year I’ve read 167 books and 27 of those are by male authors so I do believe that I am improving my male/female ratio. I’d be happy if I could keep similar stats for the second part of the year and read roughly 50 books for the year by men. I know I’ll never get to 50/50 because my reading just isn’t skewed that way but I’m quite happy with the effort I’m making.

Recently I posted my Top 10 Books For 2013… So Far. If you missed that post, here they are:

  1. The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley
  2. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  3. Love With A Chance Of Drowning by Torre De Roche
  4. The Wild Girl by Kate Forsyth
  5. The People Smuggler by Robin De Crespigny
  6. Life In Outer Space by Melissa Keil
  7. My Notorious Life by Madame X by Kate Manning
  8. And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
  9. Lick by Kylie Scott
  10. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Some honourable mentions: Man Drought by Rachael Johns, A Spear of Summer Grass by Deanna Raybourn, Paper Chains by Nicola Moriarty, India Black and the Shadows of Anarchy by Carol K Carr, The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty, Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberley McCreight, Heartland by Cathryn Hein, Five Days by Douglas Kennedy, Dark Horse by Honey Brown, Roll With It by Nick Place, Cry Blue Murder by Kim Kane and Marion Roberts, Half Moon Bay by Helene Young, Me & Rory Macbeath by Richard Beasley, The Whole Of My World by Nicole Hayes, Captive of Sin by Anna Campbell and The Shadow Year by Hannah Richell.

I hope that the 2nd half of 2013 is just as good as the first.

4 responses to “June & Half-Yearly Reading Wrap-Up

  1. I seriously wish I could read as quick as you.

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    You are ahead of me by quite a bit ! I also loved Wild Girl, My Notorious Life and And The Mountains Echoed. I really want to read The Rosie Project!

  3. Belle says:

    You’ve had an amazing reading year so far! You’ve read more books than I’ll read in the whole year 🙂 I can’t believe it’s July already, time goes way too fast.

  4. Nicole Hayes says:

    Nice list. Some particularly awesome books in there, and lovely to see mine amongst them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

