All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 25th June

on June 25, 2013

toptentuesdayTop 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke & The Bookish featuring a different theme each week. This week the year is almost half over (how did that happen already?!) and the topic is:

Top 10 Books Read So Far In 2013

Firebird1. The Firebird, by Susanna Kearsley. I think this book would definitely rank as my #1 read for 2013 (although the rest of the books I’m going to mention are in no particular order). I love this author and this is my favourite of all her books so far. I never thought the ability to see someone else’s thoughts would be so amazingly hot! And the beautiful setting, going from London to Scotland to Russia and travelling back in time to visit past Russia as well, is just fabulous.

Rosie Project2. The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion. This book made me laugh all the way through it – the story of Don Tillman, professor of genetics and his determination to find a wife through The Wife Project. Don is a little socially unusual, so his methods of finding a partner are not necessarily the conventional normal. Instead he meets Rosie, utterly unsuited to The Wife Project, but compelling nonetheless and Rosie has a project of her own to undertake, one that Don can help her with.

Love With A3. Love With A Chance Of Drowning, by Torre De Roche. I really enjoyed this memoir about a woman who is frightened of the ocean who throws caution to the wind and sails from the US down to Mexico and then across the Pacific to French Polynesia. From there they island hopped their way around, going where they chose. As someone who has never left my home country, I am fascinated by people who undertake such big adventures. I’m also incredibly admiring of the fact that she and her boyfriend lived in such close proximity to each other on a boat for so long and came out unscathed! I’m not sure I could say the same of my husband and I!

Wild Girl

 

4. The Wild Girl, by Kate Forsyth. I was a huge fan of Kate’s last book, Bitter Greens and I was so excited to read this, a telling of the Brothers Grimm and the girl who loved one of them. It’s rich with old folk tales, a forbidden romance that leaves you praying for a happy ending and just beautiful writing. The 500+ pages pass like they’re nothing.

People Smuggler5. The People Smuggler, by Robin De Crespigny. No one is more surprised than me that 2 non-fiction titles have made it onto this list today. I hardly ever read non-fiction! Anyway this is the story of Ali Al Jenabi, known as the ‘Oskar Schindler’ of Asia. He fled a war torn Iraq under Saddam Hussein’s regime and made his way through a myriad of countries to Indonesia. To make money to bring his family out and hopefully get them all to Australia, he began to run a “people smuggling” business, getting refugees from Indonesia to Australia by boat. The “boat people” are a huge political issue here in Australia and this was a deeply fascinating and moving version of “the other side” of the story. A brilliant book.

Life In Outer Space6. Life In Outer Space, by Melissa Keil. One of the most enjoyable contemporary YA titles I’ve read in a long time! Sam is a bit of a geek at his high school but he’s happy with his WoW games, his close friends, etc. Then Camilla shows up at his school and she’s wonderfully different, could easily slot into any group she chooses, but she picks Sam’s. I loved everything about this one, the dialogue, the characters, it’s just a great story. It’s Australian, but it’s being pubbed in the US by Peachtree Publishers in August of this year. Highly recommended for YA fans!

My Notorious Life7. My Notorious Life by Madame X, by Kate Manning. I just read this relatively recently and I could not put it down. It’s the story of Axie Muldoon, an orphan who went on to offer midwifery services to women in the 1860’s – a wide range of midwifery services including help with avoiding contraception and also help in delicate situations where a termination was desired. It’s a fascinating story and a very interesting portrayal of just how little power women had over their bodies and how much say men thought they had. And the scary thing is, some things haven’t changed today.

Mountains Echoed8. And The Mountains Echoed, by Khaled Hosseini. This was my first Hosseini book and such a great introduction. A gorgeous, sweeping narrative that takes in 1950’s Afghanistan, Paris and modern-day America. It’s such a great story, something you can sink into and just revel in the awesome writing.

Lick9. Lick, by Kylie Scott. I did just finish reading this one, so it is fresh in my mind but I absolutely loved it. Evelyn is 21 and decides to celebrate in Vegas and go a bit wild. She didn’t expect to go wild enough to get plastered on tequila shots and find herself waking up married to David Ferris, guitarist and composer for rock band Stage Dive. At first annulment is the only option but the more time David and Evelyn spend together, the less they want that. Plenty of sexy times, angst and just a lot of fun, this one is out July 1 in digital format. And it’s the first in a series!

Burial Rites10. Burial Rites, by Hannah Kent. I had to include this one because of the amazing setting – Iceland in 1829. I’d never read a book set there before and that timeframe came to life so vividly in Kent’s writing, it was amazing. And the way in which this story was woven and I came to feel such sympathy for a character and such sadness as well, was just masterful. A great story and a setting that was unique to me.

I’m surprised and a little pleased that so many of my choices are Australian books by Australian authors. I do try to read as much local stuff as I can but I also do read a lot of books from overseas publishers. It’s nice to see that what I’ve read from my country has stuck in my mind.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

36 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 25th June

  1. I’ve been hearing so many wonderful things about Kearsley’s The Firebird, I really hope to get around to it soon! 😀 And Burial Rites sounds very interesting, I can’t remember if I’ve added it on GoodReads *goes to check it out*

    My TTT

  2. Rory says:

    The Rosie Project is high on my list to read when it comes out in the US and I love the idea behind Love with a Chance of Drowning (actually, I would love to take a trip like that). Burial Rites sounds fascinating, I went to Iceland last year and it was…different, for lack of a better word.

    • Oh visiting Iceland must have been so interesting. I bet it really was extremely different. The setting really was done well in Burial Rites, it went through a winter of a relatively poor family who could barely afford to insulate their house with anything more than moss and the health problems it caused with damp/mould etc. The Rosie Project is huge here, I think it’s going to be just as popular overseas as well. I think in theory I’d love to do something like in Love… but I just don’t think I could!

  3. Life in Outer Space is on my TBR list, it sounds really good! 🙂 My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.com/2013/06/24/top13/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  4. Interesting list, Burial Rites would be in my top reads too

  5. I really want to read ‘The Wild Girl’. Glad to know it’s good 🙂

  6. Maria says:

    I liked the sound of “Love with a chance of drowning”. Kinda poetic 🙂
    my TTT

  7. Lucy says:

    You make me really eager to pick up The Firebird! I own copies of And the Mountains Echoed and Life in Outer Space and can’t wait to read them. You’ve read some awesome titles so far this year!

    • Haha I’m so glad. I’m pushing The Firebird on everybody! Can’t wait to see what you think of Life In Outer Space, it’s such an adorable book. And The Mountains Echoed is just beautiful to read.

  8. ChrissiReads says:

    I haven’t read any of these books yet, they look so good though! 🙂

  9. Burial Rites is burning a hole in my pocket – can’t wait to get started on it (but have to wait as I’m on a self-imposed book-buying ban!).

  10. Great list. I’ve just finished The Rosie Project and absolutely loved it. One of the funniest yet touching books I’ve read in a long time. A huge Kearsley fan so must pick that up. All the others just added to my TBR pile. Thanks for the run-down.

  11. Wow I don’t know any of these books at all. I need to look them up. Happy reading!

    My TTT

  12. I loved Hosseini’s other books so I am REALLY looking forward to And The Mountains Echoed!

  13. Loni says:

    I loved And The Mountains Echoed! It made my top ten this week too. It was my second book by Hoseinni. I read A Thousand Splendid Suns and it might be one of my all time favourite books. Now I just have to read The Kite Runner.

  14. booklover217 says:

    I’ve only recently heard of the Rosie Project but people have been raving about it. Great selection!

    My TTT: http://www.bookythoughtsandme.com/top-ten-books-ive-read-so-far-in-2013/

  15. How refreshing to see a list that doesn’t contain books with covers of sex starved teens or paranormal romance! This is a list of all new titles to me- so I will be adding them to my Goodreads list! Thanks!

  16. This is an absolutely great list! I was happy to see some rather new and original choices, as I’ve seen quite a bit of overlap on many people’s Top Ten Tuesday lists this week 🙂

    I absolutely cannot wait to read The Rosie Project! I currently have it in my online checkout cart at our local bookstore and I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on it as soon as possible. I still remember reading your review and thinking about how lovely it sounded! It’s sound quirky and like a lot of fun and hopefully I’ll be able to read it sometime this summer.

    The concept behind Love With A Chance Of Drowning is so intriguing. I can’t do anything without planning and organizing it down to the last detail beforehand, so the idea of someone throwing caution to the wind and taking a trip of a whim without any concrete idea as to where they’ll end up is unfathomable to me. It seems silly but the author’s choice seems very courageous and I wish I could infuse such spontaneity into my own life. I think I’ll add this one to my TBR list with the hope that I might learn a thing or two from the author’s rather unusual experience.

    I’ve read wonderful things about Life In Outer Space on both this blog and the Vegan YA Nerds blog! Something tells me I need to make a note to pick this one up the next time I’m at the local library or bookstore. Australians seem to have a knack for writing some of the best YA titles out there today and I’m sure this one is no exception!

    Again, really great list! This one was a lot of fun to read through, and I loved how varied your choices were 😀

  17. ooh, not heard of any of these books so i will definitely be checking them out :). thanks for sharing

  18. An inspiring list as always, Bree! I’m going to be recommending The Rosie Project for a long time to come, that’s for sure. A lot of these titles I can’t get here but I have them on my wishlist – one day, when I’ve got an income again… look out! 😉

  19. Belle says:

    Awesome list! I can’t wait to read Life in Outer Space! I really want to get The Wild Girl too.

Leave a Reply

