All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 18th June

on June 18, 2013

toptentuesdayAfter a few weeks off I’m jumping back into Top 10 Tuesday, a weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish featuring a different theme each week. This week…..

Top 10 Books On My Summer Winter TBR Pile

(Yes I am in the southern hemisphere so unfortunately I’m rugging up under a blanket each day, not heading to the beach…)

  1. Bone Ash Sky, by Katerina Cosgrove. Written by an Australian author, this is a story revolving around the Armenian genocide in 1915. I’m always interested in reading books set in new places and I’m pretty sure I’ve never read anything about Armenia or featuring Armenians or the genocide before.
  2. The Mistress, by Tiffany Reisz. The 4th in the Original Sinners books and the last in the Red Years quartet, I’m looking forward to seeing how this all gets wrapped up. I enjoyed the first and second books enormously but the 3rd was a fraction disappointing to me, probably because I don’t really like Wesley all that much.
  3. Persuasion, by Jane Austen. I recently finished Sense & Sensibility and have decided that my next Austen read will be Persuasion. I have read it before, but a very long time ago when I was about 18 and I remember absolutely nothing about it except that I liked it. I’m pretty sure I’ll enjoy it a lot more this time around.
  4. Redemption, by Jussi Adler-Olsen. The 3rd novel in the Department Q series set in Denmark. I’ve read both the first books, Mercy and Disgrace (aka The Keeper Of Lost Causes and The Absent One in America. This third book will be called A Conspiracy Of Faith in the US I think) and loved them. Very much looking forward to this one.
  5. The Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon. This one has some pretty big wraps on it – a futuristic fantasy novel, it’s not out until August but copies have been making the rounds for a while now, generating some buzz. I’m pretty sure the author received a big advance for this so I’m super curious about it.
  6. Tampa, by Alissa Nutting. The story of a high school teacher and her fascination with having sex with teen boys. I have read quite a few teacher/student stories and books that have contained sexual relationships but I’ve never read one that focused on a woman and a boy as the primary narrative. It’s getting a lot of press, probably because it’s going to be divisive.
  7. A Game Of Thrones, by George R.R. Martin. (Just book 1). Okay this one is somewhat ambitious. I’ve owned the first four books for like, 18 months now and I haven’t even unwrapped the plastic from the boxset. I want to read them but I just don’t know if I have it in me at the moment to commit to such a mammoth task. We shall see.
  8. On The Trail Of Genghis Khan, by Tim Cope. A non-fiction book about an Australian adventurer who retraces the steps of Genghis Khan – 10,000kms alone on horseback through Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Russia, the Ukraine and Hungry. I am super lazy on my couch so I live vicariously through people who do stuff like this.
  9. Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell. Okay technically this is released in September I think so it doesn’t fit the summer winter pile but it’s early in September and I’ll be so keen to read it that I wouldn’t be surprised if I attack it early. Rowell’s first novel Attachments was amazing and I have her second novel here to read as well.
  10. Siege and Storm, by Leigh Bardugo. I read Shadow & Bone a couple of months ago and really liked it. I’m waiting for my library to get this one in until I can buy the pretty copies that I like. Interested to see what happens with The Darkling, etc… something tells me though I’m on the wrong team with this series!

Out of interest, I went back and had a look at the last Top 10 Tuesday post for my Spring Autumn TBR and discovered that I read 8/10 of the books I listed which is awesome for me. I often make lists of books I’m going to read and then totally forget about them. Hopefully I’m as successful with this list as I was with that one….or even more so!

22 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 18th June

  1. jstgeorge1 says:

    The Game of Thrones series (A Song of Ice and Fire) is fantastic!!! Once you get started you’ll fly through them!!

  2. I’ve read lots about Tampa… not sure if I’ll attempt it… might wait for your review!

  3. Katie says:

    I almost put Fangirl on my list too until I saw that it doesn’t release until September. I enjoyed Eleanor & Park and I want to read more Rainbow Rowell!

  4. Persuasion! <333 I almost started re-reading it today but opted to do the proper thing and study for my midterms instead, lol.

    Hope you enjoy A Game of Thrones! The first three books as especially rivetting 🙂

    My TTT

  5. Rory says:

    Tampa by Alissa Nutting sounds very, very intense. The two people I know who have read it enjoyed it as much as one can ‘enjoy’ a book like that. It’s definitely a read someday sooner rather than later book for me.

  6. I remember enjoying Persuasion too, but it’s been a long time. There are so many books I need to reread from high school and college!

  7. oh my gosh siege and storm is so so good I hope you love it

  8. ChrissiReads says:

    I should really read Game of Thrones, but it intimidates me a little bit! Great list!

  9. elena says:

    Someone was talking about Tampa on my Twitter feed the other day. Didn’t realize that’s what it was about! It does sound like a divisive book. Yay for Samantha Shannon, Rainbow Rowell, and Leigh Bardugo.

  10. Persuasion is my favourite Austen novel I’ve read to date. I didn’t finish Sense and Sensibility for some reason. I didn’t find the book bad at all, but it kind of slipped through my mind. I hope you enjoy all of your books! Fangirl sounds like a really cute book :).

  11. I found Siege and Storm to be kind of eh, but I really, really want to read Fangirl! I loved Eleanor & Park! Thanks for stopping by!

    Rachel @ Beauty and the Bookshelf

  12. Sara says:

    Tampa is going straight onto my TBR- that book sounds messed up and sometimes that’s exactly what you need.

    Great list and good luck!

  13. Nikki says:

    Siege and Storm is amazing, I hope you get to that one soon! I’ve heard reeeally good things about The Bone Season, too. And I can’t wait for Fangirl! One of my most-anticipated books this year, for sure. Awesome list!

  14. Persuasion is one of my favourite Austen novels, and woefully underrated in relation to others like Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility. While I also adore the former, I do wish Persuasion was more appreciated. The romance between Anne and Captain Wentworth is one of the best, most suspenseful and most heartfelt that I think Austen ever created. I really hope you enjoy it the second time ’round! I’ve owned the Game of Thrones box set of books for well over two years now and have yet to begin a single book in the series. You’re braver than I am! I can’t help but been intimidated by that particular series and I have no earthly idea when I’ll get around to reading it. I can’t wait to read Fangirl either, but I went with Eleanor & Park for my own TTT list as it’s one I already own but have yet to read. I have no idea why I’ve put it off for so long, given how much I adored Attachments!

  15. heartjess says:

    The Bone Season has a lot of buzz, I can’t wait to see what it’s all about. Thanks for the great suggestions 🙂

    Here’s my list: http://suchanovelidea.wordpress.com/2013/06/18/top-ten-tuesday-3/

  16. Jasprit says:

    This is a great list! I have heard so many great things about The Bone Season, but still haven’t requested a copy. I hope you get to read a lot of these books from this list. Thanks for stopping by!

  17. Kate Belle says:

    Hi Bree, I just finished a pre release copy of Tampa. It will be extremely divisive. And I’m not convinced the author achieved what she set out to achieve. I wrote an article for The Reading Room which will go up in a couple of weeks. Makes my book look like a picnic.

  18. Ciara_H says:

    Persuasion is on my TBR at some stage list. I’ve read 2 of Austen’s books- Pride & Prejudice and Emma- so I hope it’ll be just as good as them.

  19. A Game Of Thrones is a series I really want to read, but I fear it may be awhile until I get to it. Have a great Summer!
    Here is my Tuesday Post.

  20. I’m reading Siege and Storm now and it’s fantastic! I’m also really excited to read Fangirl and The Bone Season after all the buzz surrounding those books! Thanks for stopping by earlier (and sorry for my late reply!).

  21. […] I went back and had a look at the last time I did a TBR list, this one was my winter TBR pile here. I read 6/10 books but one of them isn’t published yet so really 6/9 I suppose. That’s […]

Leave a Reply

