All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Just For Now – Abbi Glines

on June 17, 2013

Just For NowJust For Now (Sea Breeze #4)
Abbi Glines
Simon & Schuster
2013 (originally 2012), 307p
Copy courtesy of Simon & Schuster Aus

As Marcus Hardy’s younger sister, Amanda has had years to observe womaniser Preston Drake. The gorgeous baseball player has been a part of her life for as long as she can remember but it wasn’t until her sixteenth birthday that Amanda realised that she was developing a crush. For years she tried to get his attention but Preston barely gave her the time of day….until one night in a bar.

After gifting Preston her virginity in a hurried encounter, it’s three long months before he notices her again. Despite the fact that Amanda knows that she should just walk away from Preston and his often cruel words, she just can’t. Every time he crooks his finger she comes running, even though he’s so hot and cold she can’t even think straight.

Preston knows that Amanda has always been the one girl that was off limits. But the trouble is lately, he cannot get her out of his head. Normally Preston has a very specific sort of woman that he chooses to spend time with – they always know the score, they are only in it for the pleasure just as much as he is and he doesn’t go back for a repeat. He knows that Amanda isn’t going to be like that and she deserves much better than that, much better than him. Preston is from a poor background and he has the responsibility of keeping his three younger siblings clothed and fed because his mother is too high to care.

Preston has a secret and even though he’s tempted beyond belief by what Amanda is offering, he knows that once she finds that out, she’ll leave him and he’ll have ruined the best thing that could ever happen to him. He knows he should stay away from her for that reason alone but…easier said than done.

Just For Now is the fourth novel in Abbi Glines’s Sea Breeze series, originally self-published and now picked up for a traditional run due to the huge fanbase she found herself online. This is the third I’ve read and my relationship with this series has been…a little fragile. The first one I read was okay but the second was really not to my taste. I wasn’t too sure about this one but to my surprise, I enjoyed it a lot. For me this is undoubtedly the best of the latest 3 (I can’t comment on the first book because I haven’t read it).

This pairing of girl and big brother’s best friend is a common one and that’s because it works. The tightknit group of Marcus, Preston, Rock and Dewayne in these books date back to when they were in elementary school and due to some less than fortunate backgrounds for some of them, they’ve become like family – like brothers. By default, that means that Marcus’s younger sister Amanda should be like family too and it’s clear that Rock and Dewayne do see her that way. But Preston does not and he knows that Marcus might be like his brother but he’ll want better than him for his sister.

Despite drinking enough to pickle his liver with appalling regularity and sleeping his way through the population of their local area, Preston also mans up to the serious responsibility he has of taking care of his younger siblings and making sure they are fed and clothed. His mother is too busy drinking, getting high or taking off for days with her latest boyfriend to make sure that his 11yo, 9yo and 7yo siblings are well cared for and Preston works very hard to make sure that he earns enough money to pay the bills. He knows he would never get custody – his age and lifestyle wouldn’t permit that and they need someone who can take care of them 24/7 and he’s around as little as his mother. Best he can do is pay the bills, provide the food and do his best to check on them when he can. Because of this and also because he does actually believe that he should stay away from Amanda (even though he can’t) I found Preston the most likeable of the heroes in this series so far, which surprised the heck out of me because from the glimpses I got of him in the two previous books I had assumed that I wasn’t going to like him at all.

Preston has a secret that he’s sure will end things with Amanda if/when she finds out and I actually found it pretty easy to believe. It also ties into his feelings about not being good enough, about what he’s willing to do in order to support his siblings and that they will come first, no matter how strong his feelings for Amanda are. I actually really liked this conflict because it brings up the question of how far would someone go to support their family? And how much can someone do in the name of that, that you can forgive them for? Amanda has heartbreak at first, but then a dilemma.

I’m really glad that I found a book in this series that I could connect with because I haven’t really ‘gotten’ the others like many have and when that happens, I always tend to wonder why that is! I really enjoyed this book, I liked the way that everything played out and I liked that things resolved themselves in a logical and timely way. Marcus and Preston obviously have a moment where they are at odds when Marcus discovers their secret relationship and this could’ve been dragged out forever to amp up the drama but it wasn’t. I will definitely try some more of Abbi Glines’s books now. They might not all be for me but now I know that some of them can be.

8/10

Book #149 of 2013

3 responses to “Just For Now – Abbi Glines

  1. I’ve been a huge fan of your blog for some time now and consequentially have read all your reviews for this series. Despite your positive review for this book, I’m not sure this is the series for me. It seems like there is a little too much manufactured drama and although I like some of the relationship dynamics that Glines has touched one (i.e. Falling in love with your best friend’s sister, etc) the heroes in this particular series seem a little less than sympathetic and likeable. It doesn’t help that I’m more than a little tired of reading about the unrepentant womanizer ‘bad boy’ type that suddenly changes his ways for the love of a good woman. Please. Give me a dependable, funny, nice guy any day of the week.

    Anyway, I just wanted to say keep up the great work on your blog! It’s one of, if not the best, blog I read on a daily basis and I’ve really come to rely on and trust your opinions. Please know that I really value and appreciate all the hard work you put into ‘All The Books I Can Read’, and have linked back to it on my own new book blog because I love it so much 🙂

    • Thanks for your nice words! I’m so glad you enjoy the blog. To be honest, this series really isn’t for me either, lol. I’ve read 3 out of the 4 and I only really enjoyed this one. I found the previous 2 almost carbon copies of each other, overloaded with boys trying to be men who weren’t all that appealing and way too much drama. For some reason, this one did appeal, perhaps because Preston turned out different to what I was expecting from the previous two books. And you’re right about the ‘unrepentant womaniser’ – I was beginning to wonder just how many women are in this town, given how many Cage and Preston go through without repeating business. And so many of them have fake boobs, it just seemed way too common to be even a tiny bit realistic.

  2. […] The Stranger I Married, by Sylvia Day Review: Just For Now, by Abbi Glines Review: Naked, by Raine Miller Review: The Stranger (Just One Night #1), by […]

Leave a Reply

