All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

May Reading Wrap Up

on June 1, 2013

Total Books Read: 25
Fiction: 22
Non-Fiction: 3
Library Books: 2
Books On My TBR List: 6
Books in a Series: 5
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 18
Male/Female Authors: 5.5/19.5 (one book was co-authored by a male and female pairing)
Kindle Books: 6
Books I Owned or Bought: 6
Favourite Book(s): My Notorious Life by Madame X by Kate Manning, Me & Rory Macbeath by Richard Beasley, And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini.
Least Favourite Book(s): Good For You by Tammara Webber, Flame Tree Hill by Mandy Magro
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 16

May was a pretty steady reading month. I wracked up some titles for my challenges, including 11 for the Australian Women Writers Challenge, 3 for the Literary Exploration Challenge and 2 for the Aussie Author (Male) Challenge. Nothing for the Classics Club Challenge or the What’s In A Name?6 Challenge this month so might have to keep those 2 in mind when picking up books in June.

I don’t often read 3 non-fiction titles in a month, sometimes I’m lucky to read one! But May saw me reading Boomer & Me, Aussie author Jo Case’s memoir about motherhood and Aspergers. I also read We Bought A Zoo by Benjamin Mee which left me feeling a bit disappointed – I wanted a lot more about the animals, rather than the red tape and rules of actually owning and running a registered zoo. Lastly for my face-to-face book club’s June pick, I read Undercover: A Novel of a Life by Keith Bulfin, a story about a middle-aged Australian man Keith who is convicted of white collar fraud crimes and ends up befriending a notorious Mexican drug cartel banker in a Melbourne prison. Upon his release, Keith is approached by the American DEA to launder money for drug cartels so they can track the funds. At times utterly gruesome, at times unbelievable but pretty compelling all the way through. My review for that one will be up tomorrow.

May’s highly anticipated title as Khaled Hosseini’s And The Mountains Echoed. It’s the first Hosseini I’ve read but I was pretty impressed and will be tracking down his two previous novels. It’s difficult with hyped novels sometimes, even when you’re unfamiliar with the author’s work. It can be hard for books to live up to the hype built around them sometimes and it’s always nice when they do or when they surpass it.

Speaking of anticipation….I have a few June titles that I’m excited about. I will be reading my first Richelle Mead book, her adult title Gameboard of the Gods. I’ve always meant to read the Vampire Academy series but it’s hard to really commit to reading those, plus the spin offs when I have so much else to read. So I’m starting with this one to see how I find it. I also have the third in the Nicci French Frieda Klein series, Waiting for Wednesday. I’ve enjoyed the first 2 titles a lot so I’m looking forward to that.

My husband I have spent the last month decluttering our house one room at a time… we’ve gone through the living/lounge rooms, the spare room, our eldest son’s room and our youngest son’s room. Last is our room (I need to suck it up and go through my clothes and be ruthless and realistic about the 398 items I never wear). But we are in agreement about one thing – no matter how little room we have, no matter how many bookcases are overflowing, we never cull the books!

5 responses to “May Reading Wrap Up

  1. Ah, someone who reads even more books than me!

  2. Well done on your reads. Wish I could read that many in a month!

  3. Marg says:

    Never culling the books means having to buy more bookcases and/or double stacking!

Leave a Reply

