All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday May 7th

on May 7, 2013

toptentuesdayTop 10 Tuesday is hosted weekly by The Broke and the Bookish and features a different theme each week. This week:

Top 10 Books For When You Need Light & Fun

  1. Attachments, by Rainbow Rowell. I loved this book – the fresh voices in the emails had me laughing out loud so many times reading it. I loved the friendship portrayed in it. Reading it made me happy.
  2. The Shopaholic Series, by Sophie Kinsella. Yes Becky is often infuriating – how does someone get themselves into that much trouble?! But there’s something just so relaxing about this series – I know that it’s always going to be fine in the end, that nothing really bad is going to happen and Kinsella always keeps me entertained. She somehow seems to make Becky likable even as I’m shaking my head at her.
  3. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, by Jennifer E. Smith. I don’t re-read very often (too many new books, so little time!) but I have re-read bits and pieces of this one a few times. I love the sweetness of it and the fact that it’s two people and one location for much of the novel. It’s uncluttered and lets you just enjoy the characters. It has a serious side as well but that doesn’t detract from the feel-good.
  4. Life In Outer Space, by Melissa Keil. I just read this one recently and it’s really rocketed into my list of faves. Geeky outcast Sam meets new girl Camille and they just end up developing such a great friendship. It’s so well written and really down to earth and believable. My review will be up later this week.
  5. The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion. Seriously loved this book – the main character is a little ‘different’ and off kilter (it’s suggested but never confirmed that he may have Asperger’s, it’s more left up to the reader to draw their own conclusion). At first his adherence to routine hinders him socially and romantically but eventually he finds situations in which he can thrive.
  6. Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door, by Stephanie Perkins. Pure YA contemporary romance indulgence! I never would’ve believed I could loved Anna as much as I did – Etienne having a girlfriend, the lacklustre title and cheesy cover. But it was wonderful and Lola was quirky and fun. Can’t wait for Isla!
  7. The Stephanie Plum Novels (1-10 only), by Janet Evanovich. Love the early books in this series – clueless Stephanie stumbles upon situation after situation and manages to get out of it but not without embarrassing herself several times first. Add in a couple of hot men and some sidekicks and they’re always good for a pick me up. Unfortunately the series takes a dive after 10 for me so I stick to the earlier ones.
  8. Bridget Jones’s Diary, by Helen Fielding. I’ve re-read this book and its sequel so many times I’ve lost count. When I was at Uni and too poor to buy my own books, I would re-read this every time I needed a bit of a laugh after writing thousands of words on political conflicts. I love Bridget and her humour.
  9. The Girl In Steel Capped Boots, by Loretta Hill. Lena, a female engineer is one of five women and about 350 men on a project in northern Western Australia extending a wharf to export iron ore. This book is full of fun as Lena learns to deal with the sexism that comes her way and get the men to listen to her ideas. And there’s a hot little romance in there too with the enemy.
  10. Wanderlove, by Kirsten Hubbard. I really liked this when I read it last year – there was such a feelgood aspect to the main character throwing aside all her plans and getting to experience Guatemala and its surrounds on a whim.

Just a few titles that I’ve either gone back to for a re-read when I’ve been dying for something light or ones that I could see myself re-reading. I used to re-read an awful lot more than I do – some of these authors are also a good key for me, I know that when they’ve got a new book coming out it will mostly likely fit a mold.

 

31 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday May 7th

  1. I’m actually reading Attachments right now! xD I just started it but I’m loving it so far; the dialogue is fantastic, I feel like I already know these characters. Definitely the perfect book to read after reading some rather intense books as of late xD

    Bridget Jones’ Diary also made it on my list this week 😀

    My TTT

    • Isn’t it? It’s amazing, it had me laughing so hard…. the friendship just felt so genuine and fabulous. I loved all of the voices in that book.

      Can’t go past BJD!

  2. oh so many that I haven’t read yet. I definitely need to bump them up my TBR
    My Top Ten

  3. Wow… I haven’t read most of these books, I’ll be sure to add some of them to my TBR list.
    I’ve seen Wanderlove several times now, I should definitely pick up a copy of that soon.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Janus @ The Blair Book Project

  4. ChrissiReads says:

    I really love the Shopaholic series too. Sophie Kinsella is brilliant at writing light and fun books. I also have The Statistical Probability.. on my list too. Great list!

  5. I keep hearing how great Rainbow Rowell’s books are… I really need to get my hands on one!

    http://thehidingspot.blogspot.com/2013/05/top-ten-books-when-you-need-something.html

    • I’ve only read Attachments but I loved it so much…. I have Eleanor & Park here to read so I really should bump it up my list given how much I liked her first book.

  6. jodielee1984 says:

    Yay someone with similar books to me 🙂 I love sophie kinsella and bridget jones diary

    • I just finished Kinsella’s new one and I liked it a lot although not as much as I’ve Got Your Number. But she pretty much always delivers exactly what I expect her to.

  7. Rebecca says:

    I’d really like to read Attachments since I loved Eleanor and Park. Nice list!

  8. Laura says:

    I’m amazed I haven’t read most of these books – so I have a lot to look forward to during the (hopefully) hot and lazy summer days ahead of us. I have, of course, read Anna and the French Kiss and loved it! I really need to start reading some of Sophie Kinsella’s books. I’m pretty sure I’d love them 🙂

  9. Candice says:

    I really really want to read Attachments! I love Rainbow Rowell, even though I’ve only read one of her books! I’m loving that I keep seeing Sophie Kinsella on just about everyone’s list! So fun!

    • I think you’ll love Attachments then! I’ve recommended it to sooo many people and I don’t think I’ve seen a negative word about it. It’s so funny and sweet.

  10. Bridget Jones is a great addition to your list. That book is SO FUNNY!

  11. Quinn says:

    I cannot wait to read Attachments! I just put it on hold yesterday at the library, and it has already been shipped, so hopefully it gets to me by the end of the week. Now I am even more excited!

    The earlier Stephanie Plum books are hilarious. I have read up to 17, but haven’t read the most recent ones. I agree, the earlier ones are the best.

    I cannot believe I forgot to include Anna and the French Kiss. Grr!

    And Bridget Jones’s Diary is on my list as well. That one is hilarious.

  12. We have a few in common this time, and I nearly put a Kinsella book on my list but ran out of room! Actually the only books I haven’t read off your list are the Simsion and Hubbard ones, which I have, and Life in Outer Space and The Girl in Steel-Capped Boots, which I can’t get 😦 – yet! A couple to look forward to then. 😀

  13. Jacque says:

    Great list!! I had Stephanie Perkins, Stephanie Plum, and Sophie Kinsella as well. I really want to read Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. That has made a lot of top ten lists this week. Here is my TTT: http://jacquesbooknook.blogspot.com/2013/05/top-ten-things-to-read-when-you-need.html

  14. Stephanie Plum made my list too! I still need to read Anna and the French Kiss and The Statistical Probability at Love at First Site. I love getting new suggestions for when I’m looking for a light and fun read!

    My Top Ten

  15. Excellent choices! I am a huge re-reader, as well. I find that when the mood strikes only certain books will do.
    Hope you had a great Tuesday!

  16. Belle says:

    Awesome list! I really want to read Rainbow Rowell!

Leave a Reply

