All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

April Reading Wrap Up

on May 1, 2013

Total Books Read: 29
Fiction: 29
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 5
Books On My TBR List: 7
Books in a Series: 5, possibly 6. I think one might be the start of a new series but nothing confirmed yet.
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 20
Male/Female Authors: 5/24
Kindle Books: 6
Books I Owned or Bought: 14
Favourite Book(s): Dark Horse, by Honey Brown, Roll With It, by Nick Place, Cry Blue Murder, by Kim Kane and Marion Roberts, Half Moon Bay, by Helene Young and Life In Outer Space, by Melissa Keil.
Least Favourite Book(s): Stealing Picasso, by Anson Cameron.
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 12

April was another good reading month – lots of titles that I really enjoyed and I made more progress on reading for my Australian Women Writers Challenge and the Aussie Author Challenge. However I need to pick up the pace on my other 3 challenges because I’ve slipped down on those ones quite a lot! I read a lot less on my Kindle this month after reading 15 books on it in March – but I still think I’m getting pretty good use out of it. I just added quite a few titles to it for next month so I expect the total for May to be higher.

April was prize month with the winner of the Stella Prize for Women being announced – Mateship With Birds, by Carrie Tiffany. I made an effort to read and review the title although I must say, I wasn’t as gushing on it as the judging panels have been. It was an interesting read, quite a sense of Australiana about it but overall it just wasn’t something I could particularly relate to. With the shortlist for the Miles Franklin being announced yesterday, I do wonder whether or not it will sweep the double.

April also had the dubious honour of a book that rated only 1 star… possibly the lowest I’ve rated a book since I began blogging! It was a book I read for my first face-to-face bookclub but it seems that most people seemed to be of the same opinion (a lot didn’t even finish it). Next book is The Night Circus which is something I’ve been wanting to read for ages now so hopefully I find that one a bit more to my liking!

Hope you all had a fabulous reading month!

Leave a Reply

