All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 30th April

on April 30, 2013

toptentuesdayTop 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created and hosted by The Broke & The Bookish featuring a different topic each week. This week we’re talking:

Top 10 Words/Topics That Make You Read A Book

  1. Amnesia. I love amnesia stories so much! They can get a bit of a bad wrap sometimes but nothing makes me auto-buy a book like a good dose of amnesia! I’ve read several recently, there’s something about that kind of story that keeps me coming back again and again.
  2. Africa. I really like books set in Africa. I think it started when I began reading Alexander McCall-Smith’s No 1 Ladies Detective Agency books and I’ve moved on to reading authors like Deon Meyer and Tony Park etc and experimented with some classics set there, such as Graham Greene’s The Heart Of The Matter.
  3. Historical/Contemporary Blend. Authors such as Susanna Kearsley and Lauren Willig have meant that I’ve really boosted my amount of historical/contemporary blended stories. There’s something about two stories running parallel to each other – but they both need to be done equally as well.
  4. Road-Trip. I love road trips and I also love reading about them. There’s something exciting about not knowing where a book is going to take you and I think road trip books fit that bill. I’ve especially enjoyed some YA contemporaries featuring road trips, such as Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.
  5. Australia. I do try to read a lot of novels set in my home country. While it’s nice to travel far and wide in reading and experience new things and places, there’s something incredibly comforting about reading books set in the familiar. I especially love reading books about places that I have a very strong attachment to, such as Sydney and parts of the northern NSW coast.
  6. Horses. Perhaps this is the little girl in me that never really grew up – I always wanted a horse but it just wasn’t financially possible. I’ve spent a lot of time around them and I love stories that revolve around horses in some way – racing, farming properties, the showing circuit, etc.
  7. Couples Reconciling. I like stories that instead of starting off with two people that don’t know each other and fall in love, give us a couple that have already found love and then lost it somehow. I’ve read several books where characters have separated/gotten divorced etc and then get thrown back together to find out that all the old feelings are still there.
  8. The Unknown. I mentioned up above that I like exploring new places as well as reading the familiar. I try to visit as many countries through literature as possible and if I find a book that sounds interesting that’s set somewhere I know I haven’t read before, I’ll snap it up.
  9. Post-Apocalyptic. One of my favourites! I love a good survival story, ones where the characters are often alone, struggling to get by after some sort of disaster has stripped the world of all that is familiar. It always makes me wonder what I would do, if I were in the situation (the answer is probably curl up in the corner and rock).
  10. Epistolary. I like traditional epistolary novels but the current age of technology and social media has added a extra dimension to this genre and managed to pad it out a lot more. It doesn’t take much to have me adding one of these to my shelves.

These are just 10 things that will make me want to buy/pick up, there are really so many more!

 

11 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 30th April

  1. Great list! I’ve only read maybe two books involving amnesia but they make for some very interesting stories 🙂 I’d also love to read more books featuring couples reconciling than the latter, they seem so rare…

    My TTT

  2. Rory says:

    I liked Before I Go To Sleep, but that’s the only amnesia one I can think of. I really enjoy Graham Greene, but I haven’t read that one. And I like books set in my home region, but I enjoy reading your blog for the Australia books, I’ve never been there and unless I win the lottery I won’t be going anytime soon. So for now, I live vicariously through your reviews 🙂

  3. VeganYANerds says:

    Books set in Australia are defo in my top 10, too! I also like books about couples getting back together, maybe it’s because I rarely see it work irl? Great list!

  4. readerbuzz says:

    I like all of these themes. Your thoughtful list has made me want to go back and revise mine.

    Here is my list of Books I Can’t Pass Up!

  5. Britt says:

    Amnesia is a really good one. Great picks!

  6. Loni says:

    I like a good Post-Apocalyptic survival story too. Great list!

  7. Horses made my list as well, love a good horse story. Oh Amnesia is a good one, I never thought about that but they do tend to make interesting stories.
    Check out my TTT.

  8. Amnesia, I can’t believe I didn’t think of this word!

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  9. Road trips are on my list too (and lost memory) and I’d love to read more books set in/from Australia! 🙂 My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.com/2013/04/29/topicsword/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  10. Julianne says:

    I was just thinking I hadn’t read a good book with amnesia in it since Gabrielle Zevin’s Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac, but then I remembered that I just read Pushing the Limits, in which Echo has to deal with a repressed memory. There is something compelling about it!

  11. […] theme each week. We’ve already discussed the Top 10 Words That Make You Pick Up A Book back here and now this week we talk about the […]

Leave a Reply

