All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

March Reading Wrap Up

on April 1, 2013

Total Books Read: 32
Fiction: 31
Non-Fiction: 1
Library Books: 3
Books On My TBR List: 9
Books in a Series: 10
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 22
Male/Female Authors: 3/29
Kindle Books: 15
Books I Owned or Bought: 6
Favourite Book(s): The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, The Wild Girl by Kate Forsyth, The People Smuggler by Robin De Crespigny, India Black and the Shadows of Anarchy by Carol K Carr, The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty, Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight and Heartland by Cathryn Hein.
Least Favourite Book(s): Between The Lines, by Tammara Webber
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 15

March was another big reading month – reading a large number of titles from the digital first imprints always pushes up the tally. It was also a very good reading month, satisfaction wise. Out of the 32 books I read, I rated 6 of them 9/10 and one of them a rare 10/10. There were also quite a lot of 8/10s as well.

Challenge wise – I need to even up the score. I’m reading a lot of books that contribute to the Australian Women Writers Challenge and I’ve kept up my one book per month by an Australian male author for the Aussie Author Challenge. However I’ve fallen behind a bit in the Literary Exploration challenge and I need to see about sorting out some books to fit in with that next month. I also need to start finding a few titles that count for the What’s In A Name?6 challenge as well.

March was also the month in which I read some highly anticipated titles… Dogstar Rising  by Parker Bilal is the follow up to The Golden Scales and we return to the dirty streets of Cairo and private investigator Makana. This series has definitely sucked me in and I’m pleased to see that the second title was just as enjoyable as the first. I also received Heartland by Cathryn Hein for review from the wonderful people at Penguin Australia and loved it. If you are a rural romance fan then this title is a must… it’s out April 24 and my review will go up in the days leading up to the release. I also read the third India Black novel, India Black and the Shadows of Anarchy. India is a madam in Victorian England times who finds herself assisting the mysterious spy French in missions for the English Prime Minster of the time, Benjamin Disraeli and even Queen Victoria. These books are so fun and I wish I had a half dozen of them to read. Waiting sucks! I also have to recommend both The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion and The People Smuggler by Robin De Crespigny. The Rosie Project is an adorable romance with a difference. The People Smuggler couldn’t be more different – it’s the story of Iraqi born Ali Al Jenabi who risked everything to get his family to Australia during the persecution years of Saddam Hussein. It’s a fantastic read and provides a very different perspective on the boat people that come to Australia.

In the next couple of weeks, I hope to read Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser which has been shortlisted for the Stella Prize and longlisted for the Miles Franklin so I have high hopes for it. My April Aussie Author Challenge book will be Roll With It by Nick Place about a cop who is busted back down to the Mobile Public Interaction Squad (aka the mountain bike police squad) after shooting a suspect. I’m looking forward to that one quite a lot! Another April title I’m keen for is Dark Horses by Australian author Honey Brown – I’ve read 2 of her previous books and enjoyed them both a lot. She writes fabulous suspense novels and I’ve already heard good things about this new one.

Hope everyone had a fabulous Easter and long weekend and found plenty of time to get some reading done.

3 responses to “March Reading Wrap Up

  1. Marg says:

    Another good reading month for you!

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I thought I was in the wrong place for a minute there! Such a cheery scheme compared to the grey before!

Leave a Reply

