All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Q&A With…. Emmie Dark

on March 29, 2013

SpellboundThis month, Emmie Dark’s novel Spellbound was released through Destiny Romance, Penguin Australia’s digital first romance imprint. I reviewed it on the blog just last week (you can see my review here) and was surprised by just how much I enjoyed this spicy romance with a bit of a supernatural twist. Thanks to the crew from Destiny Romance and Penguin, I had an opportunity to ask Emmie a few questions about writing and her novel.

Emmie Dark1.  Hello Emmie, a big welcome to my blog and thank you for taking the time to answer some questions for me. To start, could you tell me how long you’ve been writing for and how you came about getting published.

Hi and thanks for having me! I’ve been writing for a long time, although I’m not one of those people who knew they wanted to be a writer when they were six years old – it’s something that’s come to me later in life. It took about three years from when I first started submitting to publishers to when I finally got “the call”.

2. Share a little about your writing routine. Where do you like to write? Do you treat it like a day job, writing to schedule or just when the mood takes you? Is there anything you need, such as coffee, etc, to get into the zone?

I write first thing in the morning and I do try to be as disciplined about that as possible. I still have a day job, but I make time for writing first. As for getting me in the zone? A good cup of tea is essential! At the moment I’m going through a big Roibos tea phase, but my favourite tea changes all the time.

3.  In Spellbound, the main character Belle is a modern day witch – although in her mind, she’s not a very good one! Where did you get the idea to slip a little bit of witchcraft into the romance?

I’m actually not entirely sure sometimes how the twisty corridors of my mind work! I don’t know where Belle’s magic came from – perhaps it was a little personal wish fulfillment! I do love the idea of having Aunt Gertrude’s kind of magic that can finger-snap a plate of Danish pastries into existence and give herself a night of passion with her favourite celebrity!

4. Spellbound is definitely a must for those that like a little bit of spice! I thought Belle and Nicholas had fantastic chemistry and I enjoyed the confidence she began to find with him. Do you find writing love scenes difficult? Is it hard to get that perfect level of heat?

I like writing love scenes because to me it feels like a natural extension of my hero and heroine getting to know each other and learning more about themselves. I don’t necessarily set out to achieve a specific level of heat, it depends a lot on my characters. Of course

5. Belle has a very cheeky aunt who provided some humour in Spellbound….is that character perhaps based on anyone you know?

Aunt Gertrude is a bit of an amalgam of a few different people. I think in my head she looks a little like an older version of Dawn French.

6. What attracted you to submitting to a digital imprint?

To be honest, the digital/hard copy thing wasn’t a big decider for me, I just wanted to find the right editor and publisher who liked my style and voice and Destiny absolutely fit the bill! I must admit, it has been wonderful seeing everything happen so quickly in comparison to traditional book publishing.

7. Name 3 favourite books/authors (or more, I know how hard it is to narrow things down!)

Oh goodness, what an impossible decision! There’s no way I could name even a handful of current favourites. Instead I’ll name my three childhood favourite books: I absolutely loved Enid Blyton’s The Magic Faraway Tree, and only wished I had one growing in my own backyard. With a  friend I created a book club (before I knew such things existed) with the purpose of collecting all the Trixie Belden books ever. I think I secretly wanted to be Trixie Belden. And third, I loved The Magic Pudding, a series by Australian author/artist Lindsay Norman. Again, I think I loved the idea of a magic bowl that could give you any kind of dessert you wanted. Hmmm, I’m starting to see where the inspiration for Belle’s magic might just have come from!!

8. What do you like to do when you’re not writing (or reading)?

At the moment it feels like my life is just constant work, writing, and working on writing! I don’t have nearly as much time for reading as I’d like. When I do have a few spare moments my favourite thing to do is to sit with friends over a delicious meal and indulge in a glass or two of wine. I need to do more of it!

9. And lastly, what’s next for you?

Lots of things up my sleeve, but nothing I can share just yet! Many exciting things on the horizon – stay tuned

Thanks Emmie – I’ll be on the lookout for more news when it can be shared! You can visit Emmie at her website, follow her on twitter, like her on facebook, read her blog or visit her page at Destiny Romance to purchase your copy of Spellbound which is also available through other ebook retailers.

Once again, always a big thank you to Rhian and the people at Destiny Romance/Penguin Books Australia for helping to set up these interviews.

Destiny Romance recently sat down to talk to Emmie about her book and you can watch that here:

2 responses to “Q&A With…. Emmie Dark

  1. fitzroylou says:

    Thanks for having Emmie on your blog. Spellbound is the first erotic romance I’ve read and really does live up to that description. Lots of heat and a satisfying emotional journey.

Leave a Reply

