All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 19th March

on March 19, 2013

TTTx2Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by The Broke & The Bookish with a different book-related theme each week. Today we’re talking:

Books I Just Had To Buy… That Are Still Sitting On My Shelf!

Body Finder1. The Body Finder, by Kimberley Derting. I remember when this book was about to be released, I was reading so many awesome things everywhere. And when I went to buy it, it was out of stock. I had to wait what felt like ages before I could finally even order it and then the order took a little bit of time to even come. And then it got here and it was like I lost interest with all the waiting. It remains unread.

Woman In White2. The Woman In White, by Wilkie Collins. It seems like this is a classic that everyone absolutely loves. I’ve seen read-a-longs done for it, I’ve read many a glowing review and so I bought this Vintage edition and I’ve even removed it from my shelf and added it to my bedside TRB pile twice. But somehow it always gets shuffled back to the Bookcase of the Unread.

Knife Of Never Letting Go3. The Chaos Walking Trilogy, by Patrick Ness. I own all 3 of these and once again, everything I’ve heard about them is super amazing. It seems like no matter what type of reader someone is, they love these books. I’m not sure why I haven’t been inspired to pick these ones up, to be honest.

Submission4. The Submission, by Amy Waldman. When I first heard about this book, I immediately had to have it. I think I ordered it minutes after I read the first review on it. It sounded like something I couldn’t wait to read and yet when it got here, I never actually…read it.

Second Chance5. Second Chance Summer, by Morgan Matson. I really loved Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour and I was very excited for this book. Unfortunately it deals with a sensitive topic that I was just not ready to deal with – my father was diagnosed with cancer around the time that this book was released and I just wasn’t ready to read a book that seemed as heartbreaking as this one (everyone told me it made them ugly cry so bad, including one person who read it on her honeymoon). My dad has since been given the all clear and is fine now but I’m still a bit wary of it.

So Much For That6. So Much For That, by Lionel Shriver. I absolutely loved We Need To Talk About Kevin. It wasn’t an easy read and at times I needed a dictionary but I loved the story. So when this one was released, I had to have it too. I’ve tried to start it and I think I read a few pages and just couldn’t get into it. It sits patiently waiting for another day.

Poison StudyOutside InSea Glass

7. Various Maria Snyder novels. I think I own 9 Maria Snyder books. I’ve read precisely none of them. I went to an event with her at my local library and heard her speak and she was fabulous. Lots of fun and funny and enjoyable to listen to. I’m sure that I’d love her books if I could just find the time to pick them out of the bookcase and actually open them and read them!

Sea Hearts8. Sea Hearts, by Margo Lanagan. I bought this after I read a book of Margo’s short stories that were really beautiful. I know bloggers (hi Belle!) who love this book and recommend it to me with gusto. It’s longlisted for the Stella Prize, Australia’s new literary prize for female authors. It sounds rich with beautiful imagery and other fabulous things. So why haven’t I read it yet? (Note: This is published as The Brides Of Rollrock Island elsewhere in the world).

Insurgent9. Insurgent, by Veronica Roth. I read Divergent and liked it and the end made me really want the next book. I waited and waited until it was released and then I ordered this. And so far, I still haven’t read it. I don’t know if it’s just because it’s been so long that I’ve lost interest? I’ve noticed that since I started blogging and reading books closer to their release dates, it’s harder to read a series. I’m discovering first books really early and it makes the waiting torturous. And often I lose interest by the time the release date of the next one finally rolls around, or I’ve forgotten much of what happened but I don’t really have time to go and re-read Book 1 (or 1, 2, 3 etc if it’s a later book).

Fuse10. Fuse, by Julianna Baggott. This is another book that is second in a trilogy or series (not sure how many there will be). I loved the first book, Pure. But even though I bought this the day it was released, it hasn’t been read yet. It’s only a relatively recent release so it hasn’t been languishing on my shelves for a long time gathering dust, but it seems to be suffering from the same problem that Insurgent is. Series Neglect Syndrome.

To be honest, I could include most of my TBR shelf in this list! I see books, I have to have them and before I can read them I see more and have to have them. I have some 450ish unread books in my house (although about half of those my husband owned before we met, so I didn’t buy them all). I just love collecting them and I figure that one day when I’m old and on a pension I might not be able to afford new books and that way I’ll have plenty to read and never run out.

18 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 19th March

  1. The cover for The Submission looks interesting, I’m going to have to check it out now 🙂

    Hope you enjoy The Woman in White when you get to it! Been meaning to re-read it myself actually…

    My TTT

  2. marissa says:

    I totally agree with you about the having to read things closer to their release dates and after that time passes they just lose their immediacy.

    Marissa @ Rae Gun Ramblings

  3. Belle says:

    hehe Sea Hearts really was amazing! But I hope I haven’t hyped it too much.
    Glad your Dad is OK now xx

  4. Alicia♥ says:

    I know how you feel about Insurgent!! I’ve read Divergent quite some time ago and I remember how much I was squealing and fangirling over the book, and how the release date of Insurgent couldn’t come fast enough. Now that I have Insurgent, the passion seems to have faded and I’m not so inclined to read it immediately, but I’ll still be bumping it up my TBR pile 🙂

    Alicia @ Book a World
    My Top Ten Tuesday

  5. Rebecca says:

    I haven’t read Insurgent, either, because I am a fail. :/

    I love, love, love Maria V. Snyder! I think I’ve read all her books besides three, but I own eight. Her imagination is amazing, and I hope you get to her stuff soon!

    I’ve tried to start The Knife Of Never Letting Go . . . twice . . . I just can’t get into it, sadly.

  6. I totally understand the “I had to wait to long and now I cannot seem to gather up enough interest to pick it up feeling!!”

  7. I don’t know any of the books mentioned…But I do know about just having to buy books. My fiance frowns when I come home from town. I always bring home a book. Doesn’t do well for the bank balance but you only live once.

  8. emziixgx says:

    The chaos walking series is really good, it gets soo many good reviews online and I was really nervous about reading it but it was a good series. Great list hope you can find time to read some of them

  9. sally906 says:

    I’ve got insurgent on my TBR pile. It is in the going to read soon TBR pile in the bedroom. Which is one step better than the TBR pile in the back bedroom

  10. I love that cover of Woman in White.

    I just bought Insurgent (same cover design) this weekend.

    My Top Ten

    Have a great week!

  11. Insurgent is amazing. I hope you’ll enjoy it, too!

    Julie @ Books and Insomnia

  12. Loni says:

    You could always read a synopsis on Wikipedia for Divergent and then read Insurgent? It’s really good….

  13. I’m a huge fan of the Chaos Walking trilogy. The narration is a little bit weird — some people are really put off by it, but if you stick with the story, I’m pretty sure you’ll love it. Ness is a genius, IMHO 🙂

  14. I’ve read Divergent but I don’t think I adored it as much as everybody else. I liked it well enough, but I didn’t (and still don’t) feel strongly compelled to pick up Insurgent.

    A lot of people say the Body Finders series is much better than The Pledge, which is the only book I’ve read by Kimberly Derting. I liked The Pledge, so I’m really interested in starting the Body Finders series. I hope you get around to it and enjoy it! 😀

    My Top Ten 🙂

  15. Quinn says:

    Oh my gosh, I loved The Body Finder! I haven’t read any others in the series, but I loved that book so much. I hope you find time to read it. 🙂

  16. Danie says:

    Insurgent is on my list too. And now that I’m looking through your list, I realize there were a lot more books that I’ve bought and still didn’t read, not just the ones I thought. I forgot about ebooks. Oy. Hope these all fit in your reading schedule soon!

    Mind checking out my TTT?

    Hope to chat with you soon!
    -Danie

  17. Marg says:

    I would highly recommend the Margo Lanagan! Such an amazing story and storyteller!

  18. Hi Bree,

    What a good idea for a post. I have lots of books that I buy because I just have to read them but then they sit on my bookshelf for far too long. I do have a compulsive book buying habit. My boyfriend is even more of a book hoarder than I am. He has boxes and boxes of books stored away in the attic.

    I have just finished reading The Woman in White. I found it a bit slow to get into but once you are past the first chapter (epoch) the action and revelations are fast flowing. It’s full of mystery and suspense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

