All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 12th March

on March 12, 2013

TTTx2Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by The Broke & The Bookish. This week the topic is…

Top 10 Books At The TOP of my Spring Autumn TBR List

Even though it’s been autumn/fall here in Australia for almost 2 weeks now, someone forgot to tell summer, where I live. We’re currently experiencing our 11th? 12th? – I don’t know, I’ve lost count – day over 30 degrees celcius which is 90ish farenheit. Mostly we’ve been hitting temps of between 33-36 and I am SO OVER IT. I never thought I’d be happy to say bye bye to summer and look forward to cool days but I so am! Here’s a few books I am super excited to read in the next few months:

Wild Girl1. The Wild Girl, by Kate Forsyth. I have a copy of this already and I’m planning on starting it soon. I love this cover – so gorgeous! It just begs to be read under a blanket on the couch but the weather is not going to oblige me. Set around the time of the Brothers Grimm, it’s the story of one brother and the woman who loved him. Loved her last book, Bitter Greens so I cannot wait for this one.

Requiem2. Requiem, by Lauren Oliver. I loved Delirium. And well, to be honest, Pandemonium really pissed me off. I’m really hoping that this one gives me what I want although I have to say, I’m seeing a few reviews trickling in and they’re relatively…lacklustre. I’m hoping not to be disappointed by this one. Oliver writes beautifully it seems she’s hit and miss for me. I’m hoping this one is hit.

Wedding Night3. Wedding Night, by Sophie Kinsella. I love a good Kinsella book – firstly I only read her Shopaholic series but recently I’ve started reading a few more of her stand alone books. I really really liked her last one, I’ve Got Your Number and so I’m looking forward to this one. They’re perfect for a good laugh but they also bring the feelings too.

This Is What4. This Is What Happy Looks Like, by Jennifer E. Smith. The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight was one of my favourite YA reads of 2012. I loved it! I’ve since read 2 of Smith’s earlier novels and while they were ok, they didn’t have the same magic for me as TSPOLAFS. So I’m really hoping this one does have that chemistry and fun. And I really like this cover.

Husband's Secret

5. The Husband’s Secret, by Liane Moriarty. Liane is one of a trio of talented Australian author sisters and I’ve read 2 of her previous books as well as books by Nicola and Jaclyn. This one is about a woman who, with her young son, returns to live with her mother after her husband leaves her for her best friend.

Fall Of Night6. Fall Of Night, by Rachel Caine. The 14th (and second-to-last) novel in the Morganville Vampires series. I read the entire series up until this book in about a month. They’re cheesy and a bit repetitive but they’re very readable and with the series clearly winding down, I’m keen to see what Caine does to these characters.

India Black7. India Black And The Shadows Of Anarchy, by Carol K. Carr. The third in the India Black series featuring a Victorian era madam and former prostitute who inadvertently ended up assisting a Spy for the British government. I love India and I hope we learn more about her in this one. Plus the attraction with French is simmering nicely.

People Smuggler8. The People Smuggler, by Robin De Crespigny. A non-fiction account of Ali Al Jenabi who is known as the “Oskar Schindler of Asia”. Having escaped Iraq himself, he then helps his family flee to Iran. From there they attempt to reach Australia but after he is betrayed in Indonesia, he begins his own way of smuggling refugees which will see them treated more fairly. It has been long-listed for the inaugural Stella Prize, an Australian literary prize for work by a female author.

Someday Someday9. Someday, Someday, Maybe, by Lauren Graham. Yup, that Lauren Graham, aka Lorelei from Gilmore GirlsAnd Parenthood, although I haven’t watched that. It’s about an aspiring actress in New York and I’m really excited to see what it’s going to be like!

Half Moon Bay10. Half Moon Bay, by Helene Young. Unfortunately this one doesn’t have a cover yet but I’m so excited to see what it will be. It’s the fourth novel for Young whose earlier trilogy detailed the lives of pilots patrolling Australia’s large coastal borders in north-eastern Australia, dealing with people smugglers, terrorists and arsonists. This one features a natural disaster, a rising flood and two people with the violence of war in their past.

It’s always hard to narrow down my TBR to just 10 but these are the ones I’m most looking forward to.

39 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 12th March

  1. KateB says:

    Oh no! Poor you with those sorts of temperatures. I’m in Queensland and it’s been raining like crazy. We had more rain in the first three days than we typically get for the entirety of March. But at least it meant plenty of time to stay indoors and read 😛

    This is what Happy Looks Like, Wedding Night and Requiem are all books I can’t wait to read! Great list. Hope you have a great (and cooler!) week.

    • My parents live in northern NSW and they say it’s been crazy! I honestly can’t remember the last time we got more than a drop or two of rain… it’s been a long, hot summer and I’m ready for it to be over!

  2. Ha ha! My top ten is also a big whinge about Melbourne’s weather!

  3. Awesome list! lol you know I only learned about Lauren Graham’s book the other day–had to take a second look at it to be sure but now I’m looking forward to it 😀

    Here’s my TTT

    • I only encountered it quite randomly on NetGalley! I’m so surprised that I haven’t seen a lot more about it given that she’s a pretty big name and has starred in 2 popular tv shows. There’s a lot of people out there who love her.

  4. This is What Happy Looks Like is on my list, as well! My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.com/2013/03/11/spring-2013-tbr-list/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  5. Belle says:

    I looooved Bitter Greens so I’m excited about The Wild Girl. I had no idea Lauren Graham had written a book!

  6. Lucy says:

    I hear you about the heat. It’s still winter where I live and the temp is the same as yours! Requiem and Fall of Night are two I’ll check out this spring too, and I’m especially nervous about Requiem. And Someday does look adorable, doesn’t it?
    Happy Autumn reading 🙂

  7. randikins says:

    The Wild Girl sounds excellent! I hope it’s released in North America soon <3. Also, I wasn't impressed with Requiem overall, but I did find the end satisfying. I hope you like it more than I did! (Also, that cover is WAY prettier than the US cover – blech.) Happy autumn reading. 😉

    My TTT

    Randi @ Cardigans, Coffee and Bookmarks

    • I love that cover, it’s the UK/Aus one I think and it’s lovely. Hmmm, I’d be happy with a satisfying ending but it really doesn’t seem like it’s going to be as epic as I hoped for.

  8. Oooh a new Sophie Kinsella book, will definitely be putting that in my TBR pile 😀

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday.

    Have a great week!

  9. I keep seeing This is What Happy Looks Like in today’s lists. I’m intrigued! I have to check it out when it’s released. 🙂

    Here’s my Top Ten btw! 🙂

    Julie

  10. emziixgx says:

    I forgot to put Requiem on my list but I’m looking forward to reading it too. Think ill reread the whole series. Great list

  11. I love Sophie Kinsella and cannot wait for Wedding Night to come out! Her stand alones are really great and I highly recommend Can You Keep A Secret? and Remember Me?. Both area really great books.

  12. booksofamber says:

    Hey, don’t complain about your awesome weather! It’s still freezing cold here in England. I’m having to sleep in my jumper!

    Ooooh, I didn’t know that the Morganville Vampires series was ending soon(ish). I’ve only read the first three, and I thought they were lots of fun. I need to catch up eventually!

    • It’s not as awesome as it sounds, lol. It’s nice here and there but so long in a row, especially remaining hot overnight means that basically you can’t leave the house but parts of the house remain unbearable, lol.

  13. Loni says:

    I’m not a fan of 30+ degree weather. Too sweaty.

    I love Sophie Kinsella. I’ve read all the Shopaholic books and several of her stand-alones too. I’ll read all of them one day…

  14. I really want to start the Delirium series, but I still haven’t seen them at the bookstore. So, I might have to order them. I also want to read This Is What Happy Looks Like. I have to be honest, I didn’t love her first book. I enjoyed reading it, but it wasn’t something mind-blowing (in the good way!). I do want to give her reading another chance and This is What Happy Looks Like sounds great!
    Enjoy the books you got on your list!

    Nina@J’adore Happy Endings

  15. Quinn says:

    I just finished This is What Happy Looks Like a few days ago. It is really adorable. I hope temperatures cool down for you. Autumn is so nice after a really hot summer.

    Happy reading 🙂

    • Oh yay! I’m glad you liked it, that makes me excited for it. I love a nice mild autumn, not too cold and not too hot but I have this weird feeling it’s just going to be like summer and then one day I’ll wake up and discover that winter has arrived. It’s like we’re morphing into 2 seasons.

  16. Ashling says:

    Nice list! Both Wedding Night and The Wild Girl sound really cool. And I still have to start the Delirium series.

    Ashling @ Reading, Writing & Anything but Arithmetic

    • I think having all 3 Delirium books to read together will be good! Sometimes I wish I could do that but I often don’t have the willpower to wait for all the books to be released lol

  17. Ooooh such a fun fun list! This is why my TBR pile just grows and grows each time I do a blog hop!

  18. The cover from The wild girl is gorgeous! Some books you’ve mentioned are new to me and I will check them out on Goodreads 😀

    TTT -Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  19. acps927 says:

    A book by Lauren Graham?! Sounds fun!

  20. This is What Happy Looks Like is on my TBR too, but not on my top 10 😐
    Top 10 Tuesdays
    Waiting on Wednesday

  21. […] of interest, I went back and had a look at the last Top 10 Tuesday post for my Spring Autumn TBR and discovered that I read 8/10 of the books I listed which is awesome for […]

Leave a Reply

