All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

February Reading Wrap Up

on March 1, 2013

Total Books Read: 22
Fiction: 18.5
Non-Fiction: 3.5 (one book was fiction very much mired in memoir)
Library Books: 4
Books On My TBR List: 7
Books in a Series: 5
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 17
Male/Female Authors: 3/19
Kindle Books: 5
Books I Owned or Bought: 3
Favourite Book(s): Love With A Chance Of Drowning, by Torre DeRoche,
Least Favourite Book(s): Red Carpet Burns, by Georgia Cassimatis
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 14

Unsurprisingly, February was a much quieter month, reading wise, after the total craziness that was January. Even though I had more time to read in February, as my laptop is still gone, we also had more on – birthdays, big nights for my husband’s work and I spent almost three days in Sydney for the Harlequin Summit, a blogger get-together hosted by Harlequin AU. That was heaps of fun and weirdly enough, I didn’t read the entire time I was there! Although I did talk about books with a lot of amazing people: I got to meet people I’ve communicated with regularly through my blog, twitter, email, etc for a long time – bloggers like Shelleyrae from Book’d Out, Mandee from Vegan YA Nerds, Belle from Belle’s Bookshelf, Steph from Readinasinglesitting and Kat from Book Thingo. Plus I met some more recent acquaintances such as Kayleigh from Nylon Admiral and Maree from Maree’s Musings. And there were many more people there that I only spoke to briefly or not at all! There simply just wasn’t enough time to talk to everybody about all of the things. And the crew at Harlequin were fab. It was great to put so many faces to names and blogs. I didn’t take any photos (too busy talking!) but Harlequin have put some up on their facebook page.

In terms of reading for February, I read more books by Australian women and starting next month I’ll be attempting a few titles from the Stella Prize Longlist. I’ve only read 1 of the books on the list but I do own two others, so hoping to read them and a couple of others that I’ve requested from my local library. Some I’m unlikely to attempt (novels in verse and short stories aren’t my thing) but I’ll give a few of them a go and see how I find them. I’m not overly excited about the list to be honest, I think it’s quite alienating to the casual reader. Hopefully I will enjoy the books I’ve chosen to read and I’ll have reviews for them up next month, all going well. I only read 3 books by men which was a bit disappointing and only one of the titles counted towards my Aussie Author Challenge (and I was stretching it a bit, as he was born in Northern Ireland). I did however manage to knock off a classic for the Classics Club Challenge – The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald which my husband has owned for forever. To be honest I chose it because I had a little time to kill and I knew it was short. I had mixed feelings on it and I still have to write my review. My trip to Sydney has thrown me out a bit and now I’m 5 or 6 reviews behind!

2 responses to “February Reading Wrap Up

  1. Belle says:

    Great month! The Harlequin Summit was so much fun, it really was great to meet you and the other girls! I only wish I had been able to talk to more people, there were so many.

  2. veganyanerds says:

    The Summit was so good! I’m so happy we got to meet and have a good chat! I totally agree that it was hard to talk to everyone, there were people I missed out on. Good work on reading so many books, I am falling behind…I haven’t finished a book all week :/

Leave a Reply

