All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

The Classics Club – The Classics “Spin”

on February 18, 2013

classicsclubSo last year I signed up to read 50 Classics in 5 years and well, I’m falling a little behind in my goal of roughly one classic novel per month. So when I read about the Classics Club’s fun little idea to get people to choose a book from their pile, I thought I’d sign up for the extra motivation.

The idea is to post a list of 20 books from your original list – you can choose the 20 however you like, either at random or broken down into categories. Then on Monday 18th (which is already today for me but I get a little extra time to sneak this post in, being Australian) the Classics Club will post a number between 1-20 and you must read the book on your list that corresponds with that number by April 1st. So… here we go:

Books From My List That I Really Want To Read:

1. Sense & Sensibility, by Jane Austen
2. The Tenant Of Wildfell Hall, by Anne Bronte
3. The Woman In White, by Wilkie Collins
4. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
5. The Grapes Of Wrath, by John Steinbeck

Books On My List That Kind Of Scare Me:

6. Middlemarch, by George Eliot
7. The Portrait Of A Lady, by Henry James
8. Tess Of The D’Urbervilles, by Thomas Hardy

Books That Are Just Sitting Around My House That I Have No Excuse For Not Having Read Already:

9. The Awakening, by Kate Chopin
10. Heart Of Darkness, by Joseph Conrad
11. The Age Of Innocence, by Edith Wharton
12. Dr. Zhivago, by Boris Pasternak
13. Catch-22, by Joseph Heller
14.  Picnic At Hanging Rock, by Joan Lindsay

Books I Know Nothing About But Somehow Found Their Way Onto This List Anyway

15. The Wings Of The Dove, by Henry James
16. Of Human Bondage, by William Somerset Maugham
17. Mrs Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf
18. A Farewell To Arms, by Ernest Hemingway
19. The Man Who Loved Children, by Christina Stead
20. The Bell, by Iris Murdoch

Wish me luck *fingers crossed* in getting a number that makes me smile! I’ll update this post after the number is posted to let everyone know what I’ll be reading…. *ominous music*

 

 

4 responses to “The Classics Club – The Classics “Spin”

  1. Tony says:

    Number 6! Number 6!!!

  2. Good luck Bree! You seem to be going quite well with your classics commitment. I’m still reading Les Mis… I wonder if I’ll ever finish it!

    • Well I’m not going as well as I should be, haha. I originally aimed for about 1 classic per month average and I think I’ve only read 6 since this time last year. So still a long way to go.

Leave a Reply

