All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Two Evils – P.J. Tracy

on February 5, 2013

Two EvilsTwo Evils (Monkeewrench #6)
P.J. Tracy
Penguin AU
2013, 305p
Copy courtesy of the publisher

In Minneapolis, someone is taking young native girls off the Reservation, presumably to sell into the sex slave trade. When one of these girls is found dead with her throat slashed in an area known for its drug abuse and close to Little Mogadishu, the local police doorknock the area looking for any information they can find. In an area mostly populated by Somalian refugees who fear the uniform and keep to themselves, they don’t get told much. But in one of the houses they discover the bodies of two immigrants, each shot through the forehead. But that isn’t the strangest thing – there are three more dead in a street nearby. And the more the police look into these random killings, the less random they seem.

What they discover are explosives – dangerous, high grade explosives capable of making a huge dent in the city and the loss of many lives. And around the country, there are some more incidents that are too close to the Minneapolis ones for comfort – young men on student visas found dead, calendars with a date circled. Detectives Gino and Magozzi gather clues and they call in Grace MacBride and the rest of her partners at Monkeewrench for help. If anyone can get to the bottom of the mysteries of the hard drives and infiltrate the web for information, it’s the crack team of computer coders/analysts at Monkeewrench.

Grace is a little busy with her own problems – she’s been sailing peacefully aboard the yacht of John Smith, the FBI agent she worked with recently, just learning not to be afraid. But then something shatters her new found tranquility. Two men sneak aboard and attempt to murder John. Grace needs to find out exactly why there seems to be some sort of professional hit out on John and who has put it out there. And as she digs deep, she discovers that it is linked to the case that Gino and Magozzi are working on and that they are all targets, just by association. If they don’t stop and bust this wide open, then it could be catastrophic for the entire country.

When I received this book for review, I didn’t realise it was the 6th volume in the Monkeewrench series. I haven’t read any of the other previous novels and I think that meant I didn’t grasp the relationships in this book as well as I should have, as there’s clearly some extensive backstory between Detective Magozzi and Grace MacBride and there’s also some tension, misunderstanding and jealousy going on between Magozzi and John Smith. And obviously Smith and MacBride have some sort of relationship with each other also, but I’m still not entirely sure what that was other than being platonic. However, a bit of a lack of knowledge didn’t stop me seriously enjoying this book.

Some characters were easy to get a handle on despite my lack of background knowledge into the series and I really enjoyed the rapport that Gino and Magozzi shared as they did the job investigating the crimes and also the support they provided for each other outside of work. It’s obvious that they have strong respect and affection for each other and as far as partners go, they’re quite the seamless team. Likewise I also enjoyed the frienship between the partners of Monkeewrench – Harley Davidson, Roadrunner and Annie are all a little different but they are also all brilliant and spend a lot of time together creating programs and being general computer geniuses. From the brief picture I got of them, I really liked Annie – she seems sassy, smart and fun and I loved the little quirks she had in her dress sense. It’s small details like that which help you to paint a picture of a person and get a handle on them. The dynamic between them was very tight knit – when Grace tells them at once point in the book that they have to leave where they are, they are out the door in a minute, with no hesitation, questions or anything. It’s clear that they all have trust in each other and are very close and would probably do anything for each other, even put their lives on the line.

Because I’m nosy and because I don’t like being left out of anything, I’d love to know more about what is going on between Grace and Magozzi (whose name is Leo. It confused me at first, but Gino is a first name, not a last and he’s always referred to as such, while Magozzi is referred to by his last name. I’m not sure why this is). I really have to find out what’s happened between them and how John factored into the relationship they may or may not have had/have. So I’m going to go back to the start and read the first 5 books in this series to get myself properly acquainted with everyone. And then that way hopefully I’ll be all caught up by the time #7 comes out.

As for the actual plot and what connected all of these dead refugees/students together and how the teenage girl fit in, I thought it was a very smart and workable plot that I actually had no problem seeing in modern-day America. It would certainly be something that would cause a lot of damage. I liked the way in which the different investigative teams actually worked together and shared information with each other and also put the clues together as a networked team. I’m not sure how realistic this part of the storyline is (I’m thinking not very, as the characters themselves make reference to certain bureaus taking over and then withholding information and how refreshing all this sharing is) but the idea of it was very good and it helped connect dots that otherwise might never have been, which would have been catastrophic.

I really enjoyed this book and I think that I’ll like catching up on the rest of them.

8/10

Book #28 of 2013

 

One response to “Two Evils – P.J. Tracy

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I wasn’t quite as keen, feeling a bit lost amongst the characters – I am glad you enjoyed it though!

Leave a Reply

