All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

January Reading Wrap Up

on January 31, 2013

Total Books Read: 34
Fiction: 34
Non-Fiction: Big fat 0 this month
Library Books: 5
Books On My TBR List: 13
Books in a Series: 15
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 21
Male/Female Authors: 6/28
Kindle Books: 10
Books I Owned or Bought: 21
Favourite Book(s): Man Drought by Rachael Johns, The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley, A Spear Of Summer Grass by Deanna Raybourn, Paper Chains by Nicola Moriarty
Least Favourite Book(s): Regan’s Pride by Diana Palmer, The Stranger by Kyra Davis
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 21

2013 is off to a good start! Lots of books read this month – I attribute that partly to the amount of kindle books read, which I fly through and partly to the fact that my laptop has lost the plot. It’s been giving me a couple if impending hard disk failure warnings recently and no amount of doing what it suggested has repaired it so it’s being pitched back to the manufacturer to be fixed or replaced. It’s only 12 months old. And the lack of being able to sit around and waste a lot of time online means that I have been reading a lot more!

As far as challenges go, I managed to complete a book towards every challenge I am participating in this year. I’ve read 14 novels that count towards the Australian Women Writers Challenge, 1 novel towards the Aussie Authors Challenge, 1 novel towards the What’s In A Name?6 Challenge and 4 novels towards the Literary Exploration Challenge. I’ve also begun utilising my local library again this month, checking out a few books in lengthy series’ in order to test them out. The recent spate of digital imprints has also kept me using my kindle. I’m also relatively happy with having read 6 books by male authors this month. Still no where near gender-balanced reading but it’s something that’s getting better and I’d love to keep up those sort of numbers of books by male authors per month.

Definitely can’t complain about my start to the reading year!

8 responses to “January Reading Wrap Up

  1. Wow, what a great start to the year Bree, gotta love losing internet procrastination time. 🙂

  2. Belle says:

    I thought I had a good reading month until I saw your total! lol well done

  3. Marg says:

    Wow! What a great start to the year! Hopefully your laptop will be fixed soon so you can procrastinate like the rest of us! lol

  4. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’m impressed! You are way ahead of me already! Man Drought and Paper Chains were two of my favourites this month as well

  5. Gosh you’ve read a lot of books this month! What a great start to the year. I was cheering when I checked my tally of 16… but you’ve doubled that lol

Leave a Reply

