All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 22nd January

on January 22, 2013

TTTx2Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, featuring a different theme each week. This week the topic is:

Top 10 Settings I’d Like To See More Of

  1. Antarctica: I have a bit of a fascination with Antarctica. It’s so close and yet – so far. I’m not really so good with the cold weather but I’d still love to go there. I’ve looked into the scenic flights you can do and wow – lots of $$ for one of those. But if I ever became super rich, I’d definitely do a flight or maybe even one of the cruises. I’ve read a few books set there, I suppose it’s quite limited what an author can do, setting their novel on Antarctica. The characters probably either have to be military or researchers.
  2. Australia, but different cities: I’ve read a lot of books set in my home country but most of them tend to be set in Sydney, Melbourne, or a made up rural town. Sydney and Melbourne are where a large proportion of the population is, so that makes sense, and the popularity of rural fiction and life on the land means that there are a lot of novels set in fictional rural towns loosely based on real ones. But I’d love to read some fiction set in Adelaide, or other parts of South Australia, the Northern Territory, outback QLD, southern Western Australia, Tasmania, etc.
  3. Scotland: Do I love me some books set there! I think that Susanna Kearsley is mostly responsible for this but I’ve read other interesting novels set there as well. Scotland is where a lot of my family are from (albeit many generations ago now) and I especially like reading novels set where they came from (Orkney Islands, mostly).
  4. Central Asia: aka “the stans” Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikstan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. I am almost 100% certain that I’ve never read a book wholly set in any of those countries and it’s probably translation issues as much as anything. I’d definitely like to, I did some reading on Kazakhstan after I did read a book where the characters very briefly went there.
  5. The 1920’s: I’ve not read much from this decade but I just finished Deanna Raybourn’s new novel a week or two ago and it’s set in the 1920’s (first in Paris, but mostly in Africa) and I loved it, which brings me to my next one….
  6. Africa: I love books set in Africa. I’ve read quite a few set in South Africa, Botswana, etc, what I’d like to do now is to try and find novels set in countries where I haven’t visited in a literary way before.
  7. University: I still very much enjoy YA but at 30, my teen days are well behind me now. I really like reading novels set at university, because I loved my time at the two universities I went to and although the dorm I lived in at the first one was dark, ridden with cockroaches and a total rip-off, money wise, it was also hilarious and a huge amount of fun. Some of the most interesting parts were in my 2nd year when OH&S inspectors told the campus management that our building was totally not fire safe and if there were ever a fire, anyone on the 2nd or 3rd floor would pretty much perish a fiery death. As someone who lived on the 3rd floor, this concerned me. They had to upgrade the building and farmed us out to houses on campus for visiting lecturers, which was awesome because we had our own houses with all the mod cons for lecturers, not the bare basics for students. Then when we moved back in (20wks later, not the 4 we were supposed to be out of the building for), the fire alarms (wired to the local fire station) were faulty and went off every morning for two weeks between 4-5am. I’m not sure who was more shitty: myself and the rest of my fellow residential students, the firemen who got called out every single time or the campus management who had to pay the bill for all the false alarms! And as fun as the residential colleges were, living in the houses taught me that they were my housing preference for the rest of my university days!
  8. The Amazon: There’s probably a lot of books set in the Amazon rainforest, I just haven’t read very many of them. What I have read, I’ve really enjoyed. I remember when I was in high school, the Amazon was my dream vacation location because I was all passionate about saving it. Although in reality, it’d be my nightmare location because I’m not good with the outdoors. And I’m even less good with what lives in the outdoors, particularly in the Amazon. But I can live vicariously through books and not leave the comfort of my couch!
  9. The 1800s: I’ve recently (in say the last 2 yrs) begun reading a lot more books set in the 1800s, or that were written in the 1800s. Some of them are romances, some aren’t but I find the details fascinating. This is a time, that in the grand scheme of things, isn’t really that long ago. But it’s so very very different to now.
  10. Historical/Contemporary Blends: A bit like the Lauren Willig/Susanna Kearsley books where the two stories run side by side. I think they can be a hard thing to do well, because you’re essentially pulling readers out of one story and immersing them in another many times throughout the book. Each aspect, the historical and the contemporary have to be evenly paced so that the switching back and forth doesn’t seem too forced or jerky. But when they’re done well, I love them!

If there’s anyone out there who has some “must reads” from any of my choices, please let me know! I’m always looking for some new recommendations 🙂

 

22 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 22nd January

  1. I had the 1800’s as well (specifically the town of Deadwood) and Scotland. I sort of included University as I included my college town (many fond memories there). If you haven’t read The Flight of Gemma Hardy, that is a good Scotland/Orkney Island one.

  2. Mish says:

    Hi Bree, I’m reading a great book at the moment set in South Africa called ‘A Beautiful Place to Die’ by Malla Nunn. It’s a gripping murder mystery & highly recommend it.

  3. Central Asia would definitely make an interesting setting for a novel (or several)! They have such fascinating and distinct cultures of their own and the landscapes from what I’ve seen in photos are breathtaking.

    Hehe, I actually just read another list that also mentioned university as a setting…I should’ve included that in my list, I think it’d be refreshing to see more books set in university. Plus, I have fond memories of university soooo…xD

    Here’s my 10 places for this week’s TTT =)

  4. I love the Regency era/1800s. Also university books are gaining popularity with New Adult books. Have you read The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden? If not, I recommend it.

    I also had Australia and Scotland on my list. Great picks!

    Here’s mine

    ~Danica Page

    Taking It One Page at a Timeasdf

  5. marissa says:

    yes yes yea some in University would be great. I feel like most of my books are straight up YA high school but there are so many fun things that could happen with college stories and faulty wired fire alarms sound awful but hilarious
    Marissa @ Rae Gun Ramblings

  6. Hi Bree. For books set in other Australian places, check out Carrie Tiffany, especially ‘Every Man’s Rules for Scientific Living’ – her locations are meticulously researched. Also Chloe Hooper’s The Engagement – both qualify for the AWW 2013 challenge as well!

    An AWESOME book set in the 1920s (in Kenya, on an African twenties theme) is ‘White Mischief’ by James Fox – gripping!

  7. Australia is also on my list, & I would love to see a book set in the Amazon! Great list! 🙂 My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/settings/

  8. I also included the rainforest. I can think of one book set there: Origin by Jessica Khoury. But I’ve read really negative reviews of it, so I’m not sure I’m interested.

    I’d love to read more books set in Australia. But they’re hard to come by here in the states. You guys are seriously holding out on us over there. Some amazing, amazing, amazing authors have come out of Australia, and yet we can’t get the books here!

    Bekka
    Pretty Deadly Reviews

  9. Bree says:

    Great list…I’d also love to see university and the 1920’s WAY more!

    Bree 🙂
    My Top Ten @ Coffee Bean Bookshelf

  10. Great list Bree! Sounds like you had a ball during your Uni days! I always felt like I missed out on a true ‘uni experience’ because I didn’t live on campus… you’ve proven me right haha

    I’d recommend Thirst by L.A. Larkin for a book set in Antartica: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14059059-thirst
    and Poet’s Cottage by Josephine Pennicott for a book set in Tassie: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13549599-poet-s-cottage

    Both are Aussie authors so could also count for the AWW challenge!

  11. LillyLilac says:

    Good list, I’d like to read more stories set in the 1920s as well.

  12. Marg says:

    You know th first few Outlander books are set in Scotland right?

  13. Some great settings there! 1920s is an interesting time, I’d like to read more books set then too. And Scotland is awesome 🙂 Good list!

  14. Loni says:

    I’d also like to read more books set in University and in Central Asia, now that you mention it. I’m going to have to look those settings up now!

  15. I love books set in college as well. Oh Scotland, it makes my list as well 😉
    Great choices!

  16. Books, Tea & Me says:

    I recently read a novel set in the ’20s called Vixen. It’s the first book in the Flapper series, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised by it. Being 21, I wasn’t totally against the YA feel of the book, but I’d love to read an adult ’20s book.

  17. Alley says:

    I like the idea of historical/contemporary blends, though I can’t think of any that would fall into that category. I’m not a big YA fan so I can’t say I’m familiar with Lauren Willig or Susanna Kearsley but I feel like I need to do some investigating. Thanks!

  18. More books set in Africa. Love it.

  19. mintsliced says:

    I wonder why there aren’t as many books set in other Australian cities. Do you think it’s because of the ‘write what you know’ idea or is it that writers don’t feel people would be interested in a story set in Port Augusta or Mount Isa?

    Geoff
    @writers_bloc

  20. Sunny says:

    I have a lot these same picks on my TTT as well so great minds think alike 😉

    My TTT: http://blueskyshelf.blogspot.com/2013/01/top-ten-tuesday-settings-id-like-to-see.html

  21. veganyanerds says:

    I really like reading books set in Aus but not Syd/Melb, too. I’ve read a couple set in Qld, W.A and Tassie which makes for a nice change!

    And I want more books set in uni or MCs in their early 20s starting their first job after uni (like Holier Than Thou)

  22. […] couple of weeks ago, I posted a Top Ten Tuesday about settings I’d like to see more of in books. Once of mine was Central Asia – […]

Leave a Reply

