All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Possible Title Selections for the Literary Exploration Challenge

on January 5, 2013

LitExp ChallengeSo the other day I began some tentative planning for my participation in the Literary Exploration challenge. This is quite an involved challenge (although I’ve made it more so by tackling the ‘insane’ level!) and I think that for me it’s going to require mapping out the sort of books I have here at home on my TBR pile that will fit the different genres and keep them handy so I don’t distracted by all the other pretty, shiny reads. I also have a hard copy of this list and I’ll be adding to it/altering it as I find reads for the categories I have missing or if I find another book that I think fits better or that I want to read more than the one I already have picked out. My list isn’t complete and relied a bit too much on Goodreads user categorisation so some of these may not be the best fit. I readily admit, some of the genres I really have no idea what the requirements are! Ones that say TBR pile means the book is currently sitting on my shelf and I don’t have to hunt it down!

So here is my list, draft #1:

  1. Adventure: Falling Kingdoms, by Morgan Rhodes
  2. Autobiography/Biography: The Diving Bell & the Butterfly, Jean-Dominique Bauby
  3. Chick Lit: 
  4. Children’s Book: The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, by Catherynne M. Valente
  5. Classics:
  6. Cyberpunk:
  7. Drama:
  8. Dystopian: The Farm, by Emily McKay
  9. Educational: Three Cups Of Tea, by Greg Mortenson (unsure about this one given the press it was a hoax/not legit)
  10. Erotica: 
  11. Espionage: Threat Vector, by Tom Clancy (TBR pile)
  12. Fantasy: A Discovery Of Witches, by Deborah Harkness (TBR pile)
  13. Graphic Novel: Buffy? I don’t know. Never read a graphic novel in my life…
  14. Gothic: Nevermore, by Kelly Creagh or Beautiful Creatures, by Margaret Stohl and Kami Garcia (TBR pile)
  15. Hard-Boiled: Killing Floor, by Lee Child
  16. Historical Fiction: A Spear Of Summer Grass, by Deanna Raybourn (TBR pile)
  17. Horror: 
  18. Humour:
  19. Literary Fiction: The Marriage Plot, by Jeffrey Eugenides (TBR pile)
  20. Magical Realism: The Snow Child, by Eowyn Ivey (TBR pile)
  21. Mystery:
  22. Noir: Storm Front, by Jim Butcher
  23. Non-fiction:
  24. Paranormal: Days Of Blood & Starlight, by Laini Taylor (TBR pile)
  25. Philosophical:
  26. Poetry:
  27. Post-Apocalyptic: Black City, by Elizabeth Richards or The Red Queen, by Isobelle Carmody (if it releases!)
  28. Romance:
  29. Science Fiction: Boneshaker, by Cherie Priest
  30. Steampunk: In The Name Of The Star, by Maureen Johnson (TBR pile)
  31. Supernatural: City Of Ashes, by Cassandra Clare (TBR pile)
  32. Thriller: Sister, by Rosamund Lipton
  33. True Crime: In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote (TBR pile)
  34. Urban Fantasy: Cry Wolf, by Patricia Briggs
  35. Victorian: Sense & Sensibility, by Jane Austen (TBR pile)
  36. Young Adult: Requiem, by Lauren Oliver

So as you can see, quite a few undecided…. Some I have a lot of books for and it’s just a matter of assigning one to the challenge, others I just am not sure. Some books fit multiple categories and I may end up changing my mind which category I read them for depending on how things pan out. But for now, this is my first draft!

Feel free to offer any suggestions!

12 responses to “Possible Title Selections for the Literary Exploration Challenge

  1. Gosh I wouldn’t even know where to start with cyberpunk! I’m seeking reading inspiration myself at the moment so I’ll be interested to see how you go with your list. I always enjoy your reviews.

  2. I’m at a loss for cyberpunk too. Is that like steampunk?

  3. Belle says:

    What an intense challenge!
    For non-fiction I’d definitely recommend Stuart: A Life Backwards by Alexander Masters. I’m not a big fan of non-fiction but it reads much like a novel and is an incredibly moving story (though hard to read in places – it’s very intense).

    Does poetry mean a book of poetry or can it be a verse novel? I quite enjoyed The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossan, not sure if you’ve read that. Cinnamon Rain by Emma Cameron is quite good too.

  4. Loni says:

    Two suggestions popped to mind…

    For poetry: Rime of the Ancient Mariner
    For Philosophy: Plato’s Meno

  5. ifnotread says:

    I’ll be doing this challenge also. Love some of the title you’ve picked – In Cold Blood should be great. Maybe you should read Three cups of tea and then read Three Cups of Deceit which basically tears him to shreds I hear.
    If you don’t read much poetry I’d like to suggest Dorothy Porter. She’s one of my favourites.

  6. I’m thinking of reading Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson for cyberpunk. But unlike you I’m not planning so far ahead.

Leave a Reply

