All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

December & 2012 Wrap Up

on January 1, 2013

Total Books Read: 30
Fiction: 28
Non-Fiction: 1 (and one is a coffee table book of cartoons)
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 10
Books in a Series: 6
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 19
Male/Female Authors: 3/27
Kindle Books: 14
Books I Owned or Bought: 10
Favourite Book(s): Scared Yet? by Jaye Ford, A Bush Christmas by Margareta Osborn, Stand In Star by Rachael Johns, The Girl In The Hard Hat by Loretta Hill, Peter Pan by Jessica Owers
Least Favourite Book(s): Fearless by Diana Palmer
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 17

All up in 2012, I read 290 books which far surpassed my expectations! Towards the end of the year I did churn through quite a lot of books because I read quite a few short stories and novellas on my Kindle – the two new romance digital first imprints here in Australia, Harlequin Escape and Destiny Romance meant that there were plenty of shorter-style eBooks around to be had but still, I’m quite happy with how many books I did manage to read this year.

Challenge wise, it’s a bit of a mixed bag. I completed the Australian Women Writers Challenge easily, reading 100 titles in 2012 that counted towards it. I also participated in the What’s In A Name?5 challenge, hosted by Beth Fish Reads and completed 5/6 of the categories, which is actually the first time I’ve failed to finish this one. I couldn’t find anything I wanted to read that had a creepy crawly in its name and I do know that I wasn’t the only one that failed on that particular category either! I will be taking part in the challenge again next year, I’ll have a post up about that soon. I also took part in the Around The World In 12 Books challenge and I was going great guns until about October – I’d completed books for all of the countries, some on the last day of the month! But the wheels kind of fell off there and I missed the last couple. In 2012, I also signed up to The Classics Club challenge, aiming to read 1 classic a month so probably I should’ve read 8 or 9 or so this year and I think I’ve read 6. I do need to lift my game a bit there! I have noticed that this year, I’ve been much more relaxed about failing challenges! I can remember previous years cramming in titles at the end of the year to get the challenge completed but this year I didn’t really bother!

Next year I’ll be taking part in the Australian Women Writers Challenge again, the What’s In A Name?6 challenge and I’ll be continuing my participation in The Classics Club challenge. I’m also looking at joining a challenge for reading from a wide variety of genres as well as joining the Aussie Challenge but keeping it strictly to male authors. As I’m participating in AWW2013, I’d like the Aussie Challenge to be a way in which I boost my reading of male authors which is always something of a challenge for me. Of the 290 books I did read this year, only 40 of them were by men. It’s an improvement on last year’s number (I think last year I read 25 or so by men) but I’d like the ratio to be a little more balanced. I know it’s never going to be 50/50 but I do have to make an effort to find the books out there by men that I know I’ll really actually enjoy.

The thing that I’ve really noticed about 2012 is how many fabulous books I’ve read! I’ve been fairly stingy with my 10/10 ratings I think giving away maybe 2 or 3 in total up until the start of 2012. In 2012, I gave away at least 5, possibly more. I’ve already done a Top 10 of 2012 for the AWW but….discounting those, I’m going to do a Top 10 Books I Read In 2012. Doesn’t matter what year they were published in, if I read them this year, then they count.

My Favourite Books Read In 2012

  1. Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta. How did I not read this sooner? It was perfection.
  2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I’m not sure I ever cried so much reading a book. This was fabulously written, heartbreaking but had to happen the way that it did.
  3. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. This book will never get old. It might be my favourite book of all time.
  4. Canada by Richard Ford. There’s something about the way this man writes! And meeting him was lovely too.
  5. I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. This one made me giggle all the way through it.
  6. The Age Of Miracles by Karen Walker Thompson. Such a fascinating idea and I was very taken by the sense of normalcy that the population tried to keep up, rather than the total disaster usually featured in post-apocalyptic novels.
  7. The Keeper Of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler-Olsen. Loved this opener to a new Danish crime fiction series. Characters are fantastic.
  8. Speechless by Hannah Harrington. A YA novel with one heck of an important message.
  9. The Mystery Of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes. The final Walsh sister! I was always going to love this.
  10. Two Weeks’ Notice by Rachel Caine. Goddamn I adore this series. It breaks my heart that Caine only plans 3 books for it so far (this was book 2).

2012 was a wonderful year both reading wise and personally. This list was hard to choose and I have to admit, it’s taken me far longer than it should have, sitting here and staring at my computer screen, agonizing over my choices! There are so many amazing books that I would’ve liked to include as well but I feel if I don’t stop at 10, then I might never stop!

Hope you all had a wonderful 2012 and that 2013 is even more fabulous.

3 responses to “December & 2012 Wrap Up

  1. 290 books read?! That’s a fantastic achievement, well done 🙂
    Some great books on your fav list and more to add on my wishlist!

  2. Marg says:

    That was the only category I didn’t complete either in the What’s in a Name Challenge! Congrats on a fantastic year.

  3. Skye Rathbun says:

    I cling on to listening to the newscast speak about receiving free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the most excellent site to get one. Could you advise me please, where could i get some?

Leave a Reply

