All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Because It Would Be So Very Boring If We Were All The Same…..

on August 11, 2010

The lovely Shannon of Giraffe Days awarded me the Versatile Blogger award where we share 7 previously unknown facts about ourselves! I haven’t had much time to sit around and actually think of 7 interesting things so I’m just going to plunge in and see what I come up with!

1.) I’m a 28yo grandmother. Did I get your attention? It’s not strictly true, because I’m not a 28yo biological grandmother. But my fiance, who is a bit older than I am, has a 17yo daughter from a long time ago previous relationship who had a baby back in March. So I’m a stepgrandmother, technically, although we tend not to use the term. I will be called “Nana” by the time I am 30. That’s a tad scary. My stepdaughter, is a lovely girl and although it hasn’t always been easy (she was 13 and a half when I moved in with her father and things were rocky until she was almost 16) we get along very well now and I’m very happy to be so involved in her life and in the bub’s life too.

2.) I have 2 retired racing greyhounds as pets. Power is 8 this September. He’s a fawn neutured male and  had a rather lacklustre racing career of 46 racing starts for 3 wins, 8 seconds and 8 thirds. He’s a very reserved, aloof type of dog who prefers to show his affection to you by standing up against you and leaning against you until you cave in and pat him. He’s terrified of doing anything wrong and only needs to be told not to do something once and won’t ever do it again. Our other greyhound is a white and black speyed bitch named Rolly who only had 8 racing starts. She won her first start, ran second in the one after that and then broke a bone in her leg and never recovered enough to run well again. She had a litter of pups in January of 07 (of 9, 8 of which survived to adulthood and to race). Rolly, in massive contrast to Power, is almost borderline manic. She thinks she’s still a 6 month old puppy (she’s 7 in November) and takes enthusiastic to a whole new level. Rolly doesn’t walk when she can bounce/hop/run and doesn’t sit or stand still when she can jump and play.

3.) I’ve never been overseas. Sad but true! In fact, I’ve barely been anywhere! Until I was 19, I’d only ever seen two Australian states, NSW (where I was born and lived until I was 24) and QLD, where we used to go on holidays. When I was 19 I went to visit a friend in Victoria but never actually saw any of it and returned when I was 24 to live as  it’s where my fiance lives. One of us had to move and it wasn’t ever going to be able to be him due to the nature of his job. I had no ties and was more than willing. I’d love to go to Tassie and WA before going overseas. I have so much of Australia to see first.

4.) I have never had a 9-5 job. I’ve never had a full-time job. My employment history consists of part time and casual jobs. I worked at Target for about 6 months, I worked during University at a holiday place where my family live. I’d go back for the big Christmas break and work through the holidays and earn (hopefully) enough cash to supplement my Youth Allowance until the Easter break and then so on. I worked there for about 5 years during my breaks and only stopped because I moved away. I also worked at Coles – most short lived career ever! I worked nightfill but there was no roster. You just rang in and asked if there was enough work. The first X amount of callers (depending on how many they needed) got a yes, the rest got a no. Except no one ever had to ring in to pick up the Saturday shift. They used to ring us for that one! Needless to say, I stopped ringing. I was often in lectures or tutes during the “window” or I was asleep if I’d worked the night before! Stupid system. If there’d been a roster and I’d been guaranteed 3 or so shifts a week, it would’ve been good!

5.) I have started a diary every year for the past 12 years, with varying degrees of success. Sometimes I make it all the way to the end of the year. Sometimes I don’t make it past March. But I do it every year. And I love it. I love the idea of a written diary. I collect notebooks and journals and keep them in a box beside my bed until I think of a use for them. I have inspiration journals, I have a recipe journal, I have a journal that expands on some occurences in my life that need more than the page my diary allows, lol. I’m always looking for the next cute little notebook. Borders is my current fave stockist. Their notebooks are beautiful.

6.) Despite absolutely hating cooking myself (unless it’s a random voluntary moment where I feel like baking something), I am addicted to the Food Channel. I am an avid watcher of so many shows – The F Word, The Cook & The Chef, Everyday Italian, Huey’s Cooking Aventures, The Best In Australia, Chef At Home, etc. I love love love watching other people cook. I find recipes for my fiance (who is the cook of the family, and very good at it) to try. I clock up hours a week watching that stuff. I love it.

7.) I write stories – I have done ever since I was 7 years old. When my parents gave me a copy of The Swiss Family Robinson for Christmas in 1988 or 1989 or so, I was inspired! I wrote my own novel which plagiarized the absolute heck out of pretty much the whole book, substituting myself and my friends for the Robinson family. When I was in my teens and going through a horse mad stage, I wrote novels about horse riding – strappers, jockeys, Group 1 glory, etc. I wrote angsty YA love stories (not a vamp or werewolf in sight). I tried my hand at some fan fiction but that never really took. While I was living on campus for university, writing was a way to pass the time when everyone else was out getting smashed (I’m not a big drinker and never have been). I still write now, I have done NaNoWriMo for the past 4 years running and succeeded twice. The other two years I lost valuable time away at a family reunion (no phone, internet, etc) and managed about 35k and the other year, Hunter was less than 3 months old and I only got to about 20k. Writing is a creative outlet and something I can do anywhere. I’ve always been a bit of a loner, always been ok with my own company and given my fiance works long hours, often late into the night, it’s a good way to pass some nights at home.

Phew! That wasn’t so hard


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: