All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Losing It – Cora Carmack

on October 22, 2012

Losing It
Cora Carmack
Self-published
2012, eBook
Bought for my Kindle

Bliss Edwards is a final year theatre major not far off graduation. She’s also still a virgin and her best friend is determined to have her relieved of that status before they finish college. She drags Bliss out to a bar one night, deciding that a one night stand she never has to see again might be the best way to go about it. Bliss is actually quite surprised when she meets someone interesting. Garrett is hot, with blonde hair, blue eyes and an English accent – and he’s reading. In a bar. The attraction is instant and mutual and Bliss soon finds herself leaving with him. He’s been waiting on a locksmith so they go to her apartment where Bliss intends to rid herself of the dreaded virginity hanging around her neck once and for all.

Except she can’t go through with it and with the flimsiest of excuses, she flees in panic leaving Garrett naked in her bed. She knows that with careful avoidance that she can probably get away with never seeing him again, despite the fact that he lives quite close to her. All of Bliss’s hopes are dashed when she walks into one of her classes for her final semester and realises that Garrett is teaching it.

That opens up a whole new can of worms, not least it’s not done for teachers and students to have an affair. Garrett and Bliss can’t let anything about their hook up get out which would be easy if they didn’t keep finding themselves in situations where the attraction simmered over. Bliss realises that your final semester of college isn’t exactly a great time to be dealing with a serious attraction to a teacher and she also has a close friend coming out and revealing his secret feelings for her. And on top of all that, she doesn’t know what she wants to do with her life, be it act or go into stage managing.

One thing that she wants is becoming clear though – and that’s Garrett.

I first heard about this book on Twitter – some people I follow were promoting it pretty heavily as it was just about to become available to purchase and it wasn’t much so I thought I’d nab it for my Kindle for a quick read. I’m a bit leery of self-published books, mostly because they’re more likely to be less polished and not quite as well presented. It’s always a lottery picking up a book but books irritate me a great deal, even when I like them, if they contain editing mistakes. So it was super nice to discover how well presented and formatted this story is. In fact, it’s pretty perfect in that way.

This book is cute. I started it when I went to bed and zipped through about half of it before I reluctantly had to put the light out and go to sleep. I was really keen to finish it the next morning and it was one of those books that left me feeling happy inside once I’d finished it. This is quintessentially, one of those feel-good books. The type of book you read when you’re a bit down, because it’s cute and funny and will cheer you up and make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

Bliss is a little embarrassed still being a virgin at about 21 or 22, although I think the fact that her friend makes a big deal about it bothers more than the actual status. She isn’t really keen about picking up some random guy in a club but she also sees that it might be easier – get it over and done with, never see the guy again. When she meets Garrett, it has the bonus of having an added attraction as well, she really does want him. But in the end she’s just not the sort of girl who sleeps with a guy she’s just met and she makes up a ridiculous excuse and leaves her own apartment, hanging around lurking outside until she sees Garrett leave. Then she sneaks back in.

That sort of thing I could relate to – I could totally see myself running as well to avoid that sort of embarrassing confrontation. How awkward to have to admit that you weren’t willing to go through with it because actually, you’re a virgin and this whole exercise was for the purpose of no longer being one! Garrett is rather lovely though and it seems he doesn’t bear Bliss any sort of ill will at all when they next cross paths – in a lecture hall where he is her teacher.

I really enjoyed this book – loved the theatre background, it made for some really great backdrops, scenes and quotes and I thought that Bliss and Garrett had some really appealing chemistry. I could understand how they wanted to keep the attraction under wraps and even though it’s not really the done thing for a teacher to have an affair with a student, Bliss was several months off graduating and in her 20s and Garrett was only a few years (4? 5? I can’t remember) older. It isn’t very realistic to expect young teachers and older students to never have feelings for each other.

I’m really liking the New Adult wave of fiction – I love my YA but sometimes, it’s nice to read about older people who are done with high school and the angst of it, but not quite making their way in the world yet. This was a fun book, well priced and worth it. A good read.

7/10

Book #211 of 2012

7 responses to “Losing It – Cora Carmack

  1. This sounds like a really great self-published book. Like you, I tend to be a bit leery for the same reasons. That’s why I am tempted to get them when they are free on Kindle, or cheap. The only other time I check them out is when they’re highly recommended. Thanks for sharing this one. I am also a big fan of the New Adult fiction :)

  2. Loni says:

    This sounds like a great read. I’ve added it to my wish list, as I contemplate if I should buy. It might be a good January read for me.

  3. Abbie D. says:

    I need to get this in either print or ibooks, any info on this? Can’t find it anywhere :(

  4. [...] Next Door/Endless Summer by Jennifer Echols for posts that I posted this year…a review of Losing It, by Cora [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,647 other followers

