All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

June Reading Wrap Up & July Happenings

on June 30, 2012

Total Books Read: 26
Fiction: 26
Non-Fiction: None this month
Library Books: 3
Books On My TBR List: 4
Books in a Series: 8
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 16
Male/Female Authors: 6/20
Kindle Books: 5
Books I Owned or Bought: 9
Favourite Book(s): Canada by Richard Ford, Storm by Brigid Kemmerer, Burning Lies by Helene Young and I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella.
Least Favourite Book(s): Dead Time, by Anne Cassidy
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 11

Can you tell June was cold and rainy? Windy and miserable? I read 26 books for the month. Winter has well and truly arrived here with days barely cracking double digits temperature wise, plenty of chilly wind and days of rain. Good for the reading, not really all that great for opportunities to get out of the house with two little ones. June also saw me give away another 10/10 rating, this time Canada by Richard Ford and there were plenty of books that I rated 9 or 8 so all round a pretty good reading month. I notice that the amount of library books I’m reading is dwindling as the amount of review copies I’m receiving is increasing and I’m reading quite a few of my own books so that’s something…although I’m not making even the smallest dent in the TBR pile. I read 6 books by men in the month of June which for me, is huge! I also read a few on my Kindle – getting into practice for next month for reasons I will talk about a little bit below.

As we’re now halfway through the year, I thought I’d give an overall tally count and also a progess report on how I’m doing in all my challenges so far!

Total Books Read For 2012 So Far: 125
What’s In A Name?5 Challenge Progress: 3/6 complete
Australian Women Writers Challenge Progress: 45 complete. My original sign up was more than 10 from as many genres as possible as this was the highest option to choose but I wanted to try and read as many as possible. So far I’ve covered contemporary women’s fiction, young adult, rural lit, crime/mystery, short stories, speculative fiction, historical fiction, fairy-tale retelling, literary fiction, psychological thriller, paranormal, romance and a literary adaptation.
Around The World In 12 Books Challenge: 6/12 complete so far taking in books set in South Africa, Bangladesh, Guatemala, Tanzania, Cuba and Germany.
Graham Greene Challenge: 2/3 complete
50 Classics in 5 Years Challenge: 2/50 complete
Obernewtyn Read-A-Long Challenge: 1/6 complete

Now there’s a couple of things I will be taking part in during the month of July!

Firstly after a handful of us quite enjoyed the read-a-long I hosted for June of My Hundred Lovers, by Susan Johnson for the publisher Allen & Unwin, we decided that we would like to do another, organised by ourselves. The read-a-long this time will be hosted by Stephen and the book we have chosen to read is All That I Am by Anna Funder which was recently announced as the winner of the Miles Franklin award, one of Australia’s most prestigious literary awards. The sign up post can be found here and also the read-a-long schedule can be found here.

I’m also taking part in the NetGalley Knockdown throughout the month of July hosted over at Pretty Deadly Reviews. I’ve definitely cut down in the amount that I request on NetGalley but I still have a lot of books on my Kindle from there (because they don’t expire on Kindle which is helpful, but also not, as they pile up) so for the month of July I’m aiming to try and read quite a few of them! It’s going to help that I’m going away for 2wks in the latter part of the month to visit my family in another state so I’m only taking my Kindle with me (and one book, the Anna Funder one so I can keep pace with the read-a-long). Sign ups are open until the 14th July here. There are no real benchmarks for the challenge, just an aim to try and read and review as many galleys as you like! As good as being away and only having my Kindle is going to be, I am also on holiday so I’m hoping that I’ll be able to be out and doing things most days with my kids if it’s nice weather (my family live considerably north of where I do and their winters are much warmer, but often wetter so I’m praying for no rain). Hopefully I’ll get about 8 or so read throughout the month, that’s my aim.

6 responses to “June Reading Wrap Up & July Happenings

  1. What an amazing reading month! You read more books in the past month than I have all year! You’re doing so well on your challenges too. I’m too scared to recap mine at the moment – I’m failing miserably I fear!

    • Yes, but I didn’t have a wedding to plan! It wasn’t that long ago that I did plan one though and I remember what it was like. Hopefully you got a lil reading done on the honeymoon. And normally with challenges I’m the person that has 237 books to read in the last 6wks of the year to complete them so I’m surprised that I’ve been more organised this time around.

  2. Just stopping by to say thanks for participating! I can’t believe you’ve read 125 books SO FAR. That is the perfect metaphoric fire under my butt to get reading :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,683 other followers

