All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Armchair BEA Post #3 – A Positive Experience With Books

on June 6, 2012

(Banner by NinaReads)

To be honest, it’s always hard to pinpoint one experience to talk about for something like this. But I think that in terms of one thing I can mention that set off a chain of events, was our move to where we live now in mid-2010. It was a new area for us, forced out of our old one by price hikes so we moved to a city experiencing an urban renewal – lots of new housing estates on recently-released land so there were lots of houses to choose from. And the vast amount of them meant they were were cheap. Brand new + cheap = winning combination!

Moving here only became significant book wise when I realised that someone I followed on Twitter, a bookish person, lived barely 10m away from me. From there I met the owner of the local independent bookstore. I’d already joined the local library, which is fabulous and it wasn’t long before the bookstore and the library began to put on author events. Before early 2011, I didn’t own a single signed book in my collection! I’d never been to an author event, as sad as that sounds. Since we moved here, I’ve been to as many of the local events as I could, missing out a couple of times when I didn’t have anyone available to look after my son and also when I was too pregnant to move! I’ve met some truly fabulous authors, some that I still talk to today and I have a lovely little shelf of signed books now.

Living here will make it easier for me to attend a few events from the Melbourne Writers Festival this year and I plan to take advantage of that! Being in a bigger town with a fantastic library and actual events to attend has definitely helped boost my reading experience. It’s lovely to read a great book and enjoy it but it’s somewhat nicer to read one and enjoy it and also know the story behind it, how long the author laboured over it and the highs and lows along the way. I’ve met a man who was kidnapped in Somalia and held there for over a year and lived to tell his tale, which was utterly riveting (which reminds me, I still have to do a post on that inspirational event!).

It’s funny in a way, that something that really has nothing to do with books whatsoever, has made the biggest impact on my reading life!

20 responses to “Armchair BEA Post #3 – A Positive Experience With Books

  1. What a great story. I’m glad that the move was so good for your reading life

  2. I love where I live! We get some awesome author events. Next up is Anna Banks, author of Of Poseidon!

  3. It’s lovely to read your story about getting inspired and connected. Thanks for introducing me to the Armchair BEA. I’ve been reading my way around their site today – interesting stuff. So much enthusiasm for books! :)

  4. That’s so cool! I love it when I come across someone who lives close to where I do! I just love making connections with people!

  5. Judith says:

    Moving to this new place has really done something to your reading – and it’s wonderful how many people you’ve met (authors and other bookish people).

  6. Valia says:

    Thats so true though. Sometimes it really is nothing bookish that makes you a better reader/writer! Thanks for sharing this! :-)

    Day 3: http://wordsareinnermusic.blogspot.com/2012/06/armchair-bea-alyson-noels-book-signing.html

  7. What a great story, thanks for sharing!

    Amanda

  8. Tami says:

    Great post! Glad you’re finding ways to expand your reading network.

  9. neabarabea says:

    Lucky you that you life in a big city!! :) :) Enjoy aBEA! And hope to see you at the Twitter party!! ;)

  10. Gwen says:

    That must be so wonderful to live near somewhere that does author events! The few that I have gone to are so inspiring. I get home and look at my blog in a whole new way.

  11. I would love to live in a city that hosted the type of author events that I would enjoy going to! Your post makes me want to look in to moving! lol

    Kelly
    Day 3: Networking

  12. stephscottil says:

    It’s great to have a local library with resources to host events. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Looking forward to hearing that inspirational story!

  14. Vikk says:

    Sounds like you’re in a for a great time. Lots to do.

  15. Alanna says:

    I love supporting local book stores. There is one about 30 minutes from me that hosts great events throughout the year, although most aren’t for YA authors (which I prefer).

    The Flashlight Reader

  16. michelle A says:

    I am having a great time reading everybodys posts. I like hearing stories like yours where you find the positive .:D

    Michelle

  17. That’s such an awesome story! I love it when these non-bookish things affect us like that. I’m happy you’re so involved in bookish things now too! That’s fantastic.

    My bookish real life story!

  18. Oh I agree, I love finding out the back story of something. It can become so much more interesting that. That’s very cool how you were able to become entrenched in a bookish community like that.

    Here’s my post.

  19. Sarah says:

    Terrific anecdone. So happy that worked out for you!

    I love your blog design, btw. Very edgy, in a good way!

  20. Great post! I need to look into more bookish events and take advantage of living in Sydney, I think!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,629 other followers

