All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Armchair BEA Post #2 – Favourites Of 2012

on June 5, 2012

(Banner by NinaReads)

So for day 2 we’re talking about our favourite reads of this year, or potentially highlighting some reads from BEA that we think could become favourites in the latter part of 2012. I’m doing to do a couple from both categories, just talk about a couple of books I enjoyed this year (that were also published this year) and then mention a couple of books I’d be excited about if I were actually at BEA! So here goes…firstly, some favourite reads of this year.

To be honest it would probably be hard to list all the books I’ve really enjoyed so far in 2012 so I just tried to choose a few different ones! The Girl In Steel Capped Boots is an Australian novel, about a city girl named Lena who works as an engineer. She’s a recent graduate and is sent to the Pilbarra in far northern Western Australia to oversee a project building a sort of conveyer belt that will make it easier to load the iron ore onto the container ships for export. She’s one of 4 women in a camp of 400 men and faces prejudice and rudeness and basically has to think clever in order to gain the respect of the men under her command. It’s a very funny book and I loved it! Bitter Greens is also an Australian release, a retelling of the story of Rapunzel and the first person who ever told it. This book is so rich with imagery and description, it’s an engrossing story. The rest of the books are probably quite a bit more well known by overseas bloggers: The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight and The Fault In Our Stars are two popular YA releases. TFIOS was my first John Green read and I know that I definitely have to read more of his work! Me Before You by Jojo Moyes I mentioned in my introduction post yesterday – this is a wonderful book, one of those ones that will challenge opinions on a very contraversial and delicate topic. And Painter Of Silence, which was shortlisted for the Orange Prize this year is a beautiful story of a deaf and mute boy in post WW2 Romania.

Now, some titles that I think might become favourites in the latter part of 2012. I checked the autograph signings at BEA and I looked at the catalogue on the Edelweiss website and basically just chose a few books that I am super excited about and can’t wait to read!

I probably could’ve included many, many more but I thought I should keep it relatively concise! I chose a mix of YA and adult fiction because I enjoy both and like to try and mix up my reading!

I can’t wait to read everyone else’s posts today because although I have an out-of-control TBR pile, I am always on the look out for new recommendations and finding new books that sound amazing!

50 responses to “Armchair BEA Post #2 – Favourites Of 2012

  1. The only one I’ve read was The Fault In Our Stars but I loved it. I’m a huge John Green fan

  2. Liviania says:

    I think everyone wants to read The Raven Boys!

  3. The Raven Boys is on my list too! I can’t wait to read it. :) I’m going to go check out some of the other titles you mentioned as well.

  4. I love that The Raven Boys is popping up all over the place. Seriously can’t wait for that one. And yes The Fault in Our Stars was pretty frackin’ epic and sad and hilarious and the whole spectrum of human emotion.

    • TFIOS was a pretty good place to start with John Green – but I kinda feel like any place might be a good place to start. Definitely need to read the rest of his books

  5. I have Me Before You on my shelf, so it’s great to see it on your favorites list!

  6. Judith says:

    I got the BEA Buzz books book from Netgalley and found some great new books too. Some are only out much later in the year… We’ll have to wait patiently (or hopefully get an ARC or two).

  7. Seen Raven Boys on every post so far. I want it also :)

  8. I’ve heard some great things about The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight! I’m glad it made your list!

    amanda

  9. Kaitlyn says:

    The Raven Boys seems to be a really popular pick! I still need to finish Maggie’s other books. :)

  10. heather says:

    I’m eagerly awaiting The Twelve too.

  11. I love Kathy Reichs’s Bones series :o)

    Mickey @ imabookshark

    PS – Come enter my giveaway! Thanks!

  12. Amanda says:

    Your upcoming list! I keep forgetting about Prodigy. I’m not sure how, I want it so bad! And of course The Raven Boys and The Twelve. So many great upcoming books…

    • There’s so many books, it’s easy to forget some of them, even when you are so keen for their release. Every now and then I’ll be reminded of a release and be like YES! I want that!

  13. Thanks for stopping by my blog this morning, I am a new follower of yours :)
    So many of the books you have highlighted are ones I want to read soon – Bitter Greens, Me Before You, The Fault in our Stars. I have mixed feelings about The Twelve coming out as I liked The Passage but found parts of it way too slow paced.

  14. smiling_ina says:

    Both Throne of Glass and The Raven Boys sound super interesting. They are definitely on my TBR pile – as well as The Fault In Our Stars. That’s one book I am dying to read!

    Great, great list!!! :)

  15. I’ll have to check out Me Before You, I really enjoy Jojo Moyes’ writing style.

  16. I’ve been eyeing Painter of Silence for a while now but wasn’t sold on it completely. I may have to rethink it and give it a shot, it really does sound like a gem.
    Here are my favs!

  17. Christina says:

    Ahhhh, so many greats books on your lists! I loved The Fault in Our Stars, and I’ve noticed while browsing others, it seems to be on many bloggers’ lists. (Deservedly so, if you ask me.)

    I can’t wait for Prodigy, Throne of Glass, and Unraveling.

    I hope you have a great BEA-filled week!

    ~Christina (and the other Book Hookup Litbrarians)

    The Book Hookup’s Best of 2012

  18. Valia says:

    Throne of Glass in on my list, I LOVE it so much!!!! I have Fault of Our Stars and Probability but I havent read them yet! I cant wait for Prodigy tho!!! I’m so excited about it!!! Thanks for sharing! I found some new to me books here! ;-)

    Here are my favs: http://wordsareinnermusic.blogspot.com/2012/06/armchair-bea-best-of-2012.html

  19. Marie says:

    The 12- Oh yeah. Can’t wait!

  20. Me Before You was simply amazing. I cried my eyes out. I’m also looking forward to The Twelve!!!

  21. I loved The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight! simply adored it. :)

  22. Lisa McGeen says:

    Great selections! The Fault in Our Stars is on everyone’s list. I am going to have to read it.

    Lisa

  23. I’m only 10 deep into the BEA linky and this is the second time I’ve seen Maggie Stiefvater’s book. Guess that means that I really need to read it! :p

  24. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Great choices Bree!

  25. I looooved Statistical Probability! That was the first book I read in 2012 and was so scared that it had ruined the rest of my reading year haha. I think TFiOS should just be an automatic on everybody’s list, how could anyone not include that?! Such a stunning novel. As for the ones we’re waiting for, hooray for Prodigy! A picture was posted on the publisher site of the ARC stack for that one and I wanted to weep since I couldn’t reach through the screen and get it haha. I have a galley of Throne of Glass, really have to get to that soon…I’ve heard such great things and it’s getting harder to resist!

    Happy Armchair BEA!

  26. Yay for TFiOS! It seems to be on a lot of peoples’ lists – including mine! :D

  27. Oooh I can’t wait for Prodigy! I can’t believe I forgot it on my own list!

    Kelly
    My Best of 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,644 other followers

