All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 1st May

on May 1, 2012

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by The Broke & The Bookish with a different book-related theme each week. This week our topic is:

Top 10 Books You’d Like To See Made Into A Movie

I thought this topic sounded a bit familiar and it turns out that it is a repeat but there’s always plenty of books that you read and think could make an excellent movie if only YOU could be in charge of script, casting, production, etc. So here are some that I’ve read in recent times that I think would work.

  1. After The Darkness, by Honey Brown. I read this only a couple of weeks ago – it a suspenseful story about an average couple returning home from a holiday when they stop in to see an unusual mansion/gallery set on a clifftop. Once inside they are trapped in their worst nightmare, drugged, attacked, assaulted and look bound for death after the strange owner/resident is finished with them. They manage to free themselves, leaving behind a body in the process but it’s after that when some of the really weird stuff starts. I said in my review of this one that I could just see it all as a movie, playing out in my head when I was reading.
  2. Cinder, by Marissa Meyer. This was a very interesting story, set after another world war in New Beijing where cyborgs exist and the moon is inhabited. I could definitely see it as a movie with some really awesome special effects.
  3. Saving Francesca, by Melina Marchetta. I only read this book this year (shame on me) but it is one of my favourites. I would love to see this done into a movie but it’s that old struggle… will they do it justice? Will the cast match the people in my head? Will it just have that something that the book does? But I just think this is a fabulous story of struggle and also hope. I know there’s a script for On The Jellicoe Road or I think I’d have added that one in as well.
  4. The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight, by Jennifer E. Smith. Would make the cutest little romance comedy ever. One of those movies that you’d pop in every time you’d had a bad day and needed some laughs and cheering up.
  5. Wings Of Fear and Shattered Sky, by Helene Young. Some more Australian titles - Wings of Fear and Shattered Sky revolve around border patrol in Australia’s far north, keeping our vast borders secure. One involves drugs and terrorists, the other sex trafficking from Asia. I think they’d make fabulous movies and how amazing would the scenery be? Lots of aerial shots over the Great Barrier Reef and right up into the Cape.
  6. Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline. I loved this book – the idea of an entire virtual reality is so fascinating and the chance to win obscene amounts of money by navigating it? I’d love to see this as a movie but I do think it would be quite tricky to get right.
  7. The Bronze Horseman, by Paullina Simons. I loved this book and I’d like to see it given a chance on the big screen. There’s a lot of WWII stuff out there but I think this would be a different take on it. The scenes in the dead of winter where Tatiana and her family have no heating, it’s -30 and they have to go get their rations…so much loss in this book but it’s also balanced out by a great love story.
  8. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, by Morgan Matson. I love road trip books so much! And I think they have potential for movies, even though a lot of the time is spent in a car. I think with this one, it’s the side trips they take, the tangents they go off on that would make it fabulous. Plus, they were so cute.
  9. The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer, by Michelle Hodkin. I think this book has atmosphere and I think that would translate well to a movie. There’s lots of dreams and hallucination scenes and coupled with some creative camera work and a great soundtrack, this would be one hell of a creeper.
  10. The Secret History Of The Pink Carnation et al, by Lauren Willig. I love this series! It’s such a fun blend of historical and contemporary and I would really enjoy seeing all those beautiful dresses and country estates from the historical played out on screen. Plus there’s some fun with the spies and some good suspense. I’d like to see any (or all!) of them adapted.

So there we go – 10 more books I have an interest in seeing turned into movies. Even though I’ll be busting for this and then it happens and I’m almost always disappointed! It doesn’t stop me wishing and hoping though, with certain books!

24 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 1st May

  1. I think Ready Player One would have an interesting audience of YA readers, teens, 80′s pop culture buffs, and video game fans. Would be an interesting movie, indeed. Thanks for sharing your list.

  2. Michelle says:

    I would like to see Cinder as a movie! That would be interesting! Thanks for the great TTT.

    I would love it if you could check out my TTT!

  3. Danielle says:

    YES! Especially to ‘After the Darkness’ and ‘Saving Francesca’ (I am super excited though, that Melina Marchetta has written a screenplay for ‘On The Jellicoe Road’. One adaptation down, at least!)

  4. marissa says:

    ready player one would be so so so awesome it’s supposedly in the works. I’m keeping my fingers crossed!
    marissa
    http://raegunwear.blogspot.com

  5. Carissa says:

    I had Cinder on my list too. It would be so beautiful and mechy and awesome =)

  6. Elodie says:

    Yes! The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight would definitely be one of those feel-good movies, the kind you just pick up when you need a warm, fuzzy feeling or a hug when noone is around :D Great list!

    • Elodie says:

      I also forgot to mentioned: We NEED a movie based on The Bronze Horseman! I am in love with that book, with the entire trilogy! Alexander and Tatiana´s story needs to be brought to the big screen!

      • I haven’t read the 3rd book yet because I sort of feel the 2nd had the perfect ending but I definitely agree it needs to be brought to the big screen. Has the potential to be so wonderful, I can just imagine all of the scenery

  7. Definitely agreed on The Statistical Probability, it’s on my list and would make such a cute contemporary love story. And I’ve only just started Cinder, but I could see it being an interesting film!

  8. I loved Saving Francesca so much and I agree with everything you said about it. It would be a beautiful movie. Amy & Roger is on my list as well. Why is Hollywood not all over that?! That’s the kind of movies we want to see!
    My Top Ten Tuesday

  9. megsays says:

    I almost squealed a loud at #8! Definitely snuck into my top favorite books, and I could picture a movie version of the story so easily. (What a fun movie to be in, too!)

  10. Candice says:

    Ah! The Pink Carnation! That would be a great movie; I’d totally go see it! I would be crazy hesitant to see Saving Francesca or Jellicoe Road adapted into a movie; not because I don’t think they’d be amazing films, but because I’d be worried they wouldn’t get them right!

    • That’s always the fear with adaptations, isn’t it? Some of them you’re just SO invested in that you have such a strict idea in your head of how this part should be done, or how that character should look. If it was all wrong, it would be devastating, haha. At least Melina Marchetta is writing the script for Jellicoe Road herself so that’s one tick! I always think things go a lot smoother when the author stays really involved.

  11. I haven’t read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer yet, but I’ve heard from lots of people that it has that thriller atmosphere that would be great in a movie. Now I’m even more excited to read it.
    Haha, I think almost everyone has The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight on their list this week–it just seems like the perfect romantic comedy.

    Here’s my post :) http://laurenreadsya.tumblr.com/post/22193794999/top-ten-tuesday-9-books-id-like-to-see-made-into

  12. Yes to Cinder!! That one has to be in the works :] Good list, I have to add some of these to my TBR!

    My Top Ten!

  13. fakesteph says:

    I would LOVE to see Ready Player One as a movie. I loved a lot of your picks, but that one is just… wish I had put it on my list!

  14. I put Smith’s book on my list as well ;) It would just be so perfect as a feel-good movie!

    Still have to read a Marchetta book – and I have three! I think I packed them all though. I DID leave out The Bronze Horseman and its sequel though, and the Pink Carnation book; I’m so looking forward to reading those!

  15. Oooh these sound good… Especially the epic roadtrip. That would be fuuuun.
    I agree – these could be great IF a book lover were in charge of script/casting etc.

    Here’s my list :)

  16. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour sounds like it would be a great movie!

  17. Ooh, I still have to read Ready Player One and Mara Dyer.. but I hear they’re both fantastic! Great choices!!

    Thanks for stopping by! :)

    Michele | Top 10

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,610 other followers

