All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 14th June

on June 14, 2011

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish. There’s a different book-related theme each week and this one we’re talking:

Top 10 ‘Awwww’ Moments in Books!

  1. “I understand I can’t have you. But I want to know you’re in the world with me.” Doug to Zoey in Jennifer Echols’ novel Forget You. Ahhh I loved the character of Doug. The perceived bad boy who was really anything but. Zoey was going through some awful stuff and Doug was always around to make sure she didn’t go the way of her mum and try and do something silly. That line he says to her, when he thinks there’s no chance she’ll ever choose him, is one of my favourites in the book. I could’ve also added in a dozen other scenes from this novel, easily.
  2. The scene at the top of Notre-Dame between Etienne and Anna from Anna and the French Kiss, by Stephanie Perkins. I read this book over the weekend (haven’t even reviewed it yet!) and loved it. This is actually another one where I could’ve included so many moments – or you know, the whole book.
  3. What Nicholas Brisbane has engraved on Lady Julia’s wedding ring at the end of Silent on the Moor by Deanna Raybourn. SotM might be my favourite novel in this series (it’s warring with The Dark Enquiry, the latest one, at the moment) because it’s so rife with sexual tension between Nicholas and Julia. The finally get married at the end of this book he has yet another Shakespearean quote engraved on the piece of jewelry he gives her, this one from Hamlet. I don’t even like Hamlet but I like this quote!
    Doubt thou the stars are fire,
    Doubt that the sun doth move,
    Doubt truth to be a liar,
    But never doubt I love.”
  4. Zsadist writing ‘I love you’ for Bella at the end of Lover Awakened, by J.R. Ward. Zsadist – without a doubt my favourite brother and this is my favourite novel in the series. There’s a lot to like about Z’s change as he falls in love with Bella and learns to get over his demons but there’s something about that simple sentence (shown in the book as written in childish-like block letters, indicative of someone who is just learning to read and write) that is perfect and lovely.
  5. When Adam realises it is Mia who has bought his guitar, from Where She Went, by Gayle Forman. Ah man I totally bawled my eyes out at that part of the book – I had been going so well up until then too because I had been warned it was a tear-jerker!
  6. Elizabeth’s realisation that it was Darcy who engineered the marriage between Wickham & Lydia, Pride & Prejudice, by Jane Austen. Lizzie is beginning to realise that hey, Darcy might not be so bad when she gets word that Wickham and Lydia have eloped. She realises then that Darcy probably feels as though he had a lucky escape from her crazy and now scandalous family, especially when he departs from her abruptly after she blurts out the news. Turns out Darcy was instead rushing off to London to save the family’s honour (and therefore Lizzie’s). Yet another layer to the enigmatic Darcy!
  7. Gilbert and Anne get engaged at the end of Anne of the Island, by L.M. Montgomery. Finally! After Gilbert had already proposed and been rejected and they’d both met and been involved with other people, Anne finally realises who she was meant to be with all along…only to discover that Gilbert actually has typhoid fever and might not make it through the night. But! This is a happy book and he does and it’s made all okay between them.
  8. Luke’s surprise birthday party thrown by Becky in Mini-Shopaholic, by Sophie Kinsella. Becky is often shallow and a bit silly, spending money all the time, buying things she doesn’t need but she has a pretty giving and generous side too which is evidenced multiple times throughout the Shopaholic books. I think my favourite one is the birthday party she throws for Luke. She tries everything to keep it a secret and although it doesn’t quite work out that way, it also does. And it’s a perfect example of why Luke and Becky, who often seem like such opposites, go so well together.
  9. The Katniss and Rue friendship, in The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. The idea of Katniss, so independent and tough, buddying up to sweet little Rue and them becoming friends was just freaking cute. And oh that scene… another one that made me bawl like a baby.
  10. Rory has to carry Deirdre (dripping wet and looking almost naked) across the stage in their production of Hamlet, in It Means Mischief, by Kate Thompson. So often you have no real idea how the ‘hero/love interest’ feels other than wanting to sleep with the heroine, or being the object of the heroine’s lust. This scene perfectly highlights exactly how Rory feels about Deirdre and the fact that it takes place when they’re actually kind of not speaking makes it highly uncomfortable for both of them, but it is so telling.
There are so many more moments I could’ve added in here – I am an avid re-reader and will often mark passages that I love in books that give me that heart skipping a beat feeling so that I can go back to them. Looking forward to see what everyone’s choices are this week!
7 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 14th June

  1. Anna says:

    That Doug and Zoey quote — SO. GOOD.

  2. Patti Smith says:

    That Rue and Katniss scene…I was sobbing.. :(

  3. Jessica S. says:

    Oh my goodness! I have the Anne and Gilbert scene in my top ten too!!! I almost forgot about the Mia and Adam one, probably because I only picked out my top ten from the books I own. I love that scene too. :) http://thoughtsatoneinthemorning.blogspot.com/2011/06/top-ten-tuesday-1.html

  4. cmcraig says:

    Katniss and Rue’s relationship is so precious! I love that!

  5. Melissa says:

    Love Katniss and Rue, and I’m totally with you on Elizabeth’s revelation. Fabulous picks! :)

  6. Anne says:

    I totally agree with you on Anna and the French Kiss, Pride and Prejudice, and If I Stay. Good list.

  7. Loni says:

    I haven’t read Anne of the Island in years. I’m going to have to go back to that series.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,683 other followers

