All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

New Arrivals November-December

on December 26, 2010

When Christmas shopping recently, we had to make a trip out to the industrial/homemaker side of the city, a place we don’t often go. There’s a book warehouse there that we looked in on – everything is $5. Sometimes there’s a lot of crap, sometimes if you wade through you find some interesting novels. We came out with a few books!

Touchy Subjects, by Emma Donoghue. I’m usually not a big short stories fan. But I loved Room so much that I just want to read anything that Emma Donoghue has ever written. So when I saw this, I snatched it up.

Faces in the Water, by Janet Frame. Got this primarily for Maree’s NZ mini-challenge in March. I always feel so bad about my lack of NZ-author/novel knowledge and Janet Frame is such a well known name. I thought that she might be a good place to start!

Memories of my Melancholy Whores, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. 2011 is a year of classics, a year of authors I should’ve read before now, a year of books I should’ve read before now, among other things! GGM is definitely an author I should’ve read before now, but I haven’t. So I now have two books to read by him next year.

The Opposite of Me, by Sarah Pekkanen. A perfect example of judging a book by it’s cover – the one I purchased has a different cover to this one and I probably wouldn’t have looked at this novel in the store if it’d had the same cover as the picture here! It’s a novel about twins, sisterhood, etc. Looked like a fun little read.

29, by Adena Halpern. A 75yo lady wishes on her birthday candles that she could be 29 again, just like her granddaughter Lucy. And her wish actually comes true! I’ve heard some good things about this book and read a few good reviews. Thought I’d give it ago.

Girl In Translation, by Jean Kwok. I actually borrowed this from my local library a few months ago but had to return it before I could read it as it had been requested by someone else and I couldn’t renew it. Then I kind of forgot about it for a while, getting distracted by other books. It’s a story of immigrants living in New York and the struggles they face. It might go towards my 2011 Global Challenge.

Hannibal Rising, by Thomas Harris. I’ve read quite a few of the Hannibal Lecter novels – Silence of the Lambs and Hannibal and I’ve seen both of those movies, plus Red Dragon. Hannibal Rising is a prequel to all of the other works, taking us back to when Hannibal Lecter was a child and taking us through his teenage and college years.

Designated Targets & Final Impact, both by John Birmingham. Many, many years ago I read a novel by John Birmingham called He Died With A Felafel In His Hand, which has also been turned into a pretty recognisable Australian movie. I’ve also read the sequel and liked them both. A long time ago I read some articles and interviews about/with John Birmingham about how he was moving on to try his hand at writing some military type thrillers. Weapons of Choice was the first he published in this genre, and it was also the first of a trilogy. Designated Targets and Final Impact are the second and third parts of the trilogy. Naturally, the book warehouse did not have the first novel. So now I have to track it down.

You Gotta Have Balls, by Lily Brett. We own another of her novels, Too Many Men and both like it so we picked up this more-recent one on the basis of that alone.

The Stone Gods, by Jeanette Winterson. My fiance likes Jeanette Winterson a lot so I got this for him. It sounds like a bit of a quirky story about colonising a new, blue planet which is like Earth was millions of years ago before humans came alone and drove it almost to the brink of destruction.

The Fall of Light, by Niall Williams. Rob picked up this one but I’ll also be stealing it off him to read. It’s set during the Irish Potato Famine which makes it a good fit for my 2011 Irish Challenge!

These books were ordered from the Book Depository:

Perfect Chemistry & Rules of Attraction, by Simone Elkeles. Ordered after I read Leaving Paradise and Return to Paradise and loved them both. There’s a third novel due out next year.

Without Warning, by John Birmingham. I won the sequel to this novel, After America participating in a Melbourne Cup sweep hosted by Book Thingo. So I thought that I’d better get the first one. This is why I also picked up the other JB novels – the storylines all look interesting. Different to what I’d usually read!

Bought in actual bricks and mortar stores:

Monsters of Men, by Patrick Ness. To complete my Chaos Walking trilogy collection. I already own the first two but hadn’t yet got around to getting this one until recently.

Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte. I was in a department store recently and spotted some classics with some re-jazzed covers to attract the teen/YA crowd. I already owned a few of them (P&P, Jane Eyre)but I didn’t own Wuthering Heights. I read it once about 10 years go to see what all the fuss is about but I think I really need to read it again.

1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. Since joining the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die Challenge I got pretty interested in the actual book itself. I got it ordered in through my local bookstore and picked it up today while I was shopping the Boxing Day sales. Looking forward to sitting down and thumbing through this one!

One response to “New Arrivals November-December

  1. Shannon says:

    Sweet haul, Bree!

    I’ve been interested in reading something of Janet Frame’s, too – when I was quite young I saw the mini-series based on her early life, An Angel at my Table – it was pretty upsetting to be honest, but I’ve never been able to forget it!

    I’d like to read the Winterson book too – I’ve read Boating for Beginners and have two or three others to read; I’ve heard good things about The Stone Gods.

    29 sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,702 other followers

